Logo orange

Kimberly's Groups

Kimberly Berger

Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kimberly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • USC, UC Berkeley
  • From Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Finish this doctoral degree with flying colors and continue on the journey of self-appreciation.

ABOUT ME

Hello! My name is Kim. I am currently in PhD program at UC Berkeley studying epidemiology and biostatistics. I am working the long-term health effects of environmental chemicals found around the home. My current project is on Triclosan.

My current interests are in environmental health. Most of our lifestyles, mine included, have strayed so far homeostasis with our surroundings and I believe it is incredibly important to rekindle this connection. I am not necessarily looking down on modern living. I would say a maintenance of modern lifestyle in conjunction with awareness of how that lifestyle affects our surroundings is more feasible than abandoning all industrial advancements. I am mainly interested in looking at harmful chemicals in everyday use products, such as cosmetics or food packaging.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I have explored a few places on couches. When I first moved to the San Francisco area, I made a lot of friends out of visiting tourists and did all the touristy things with them. I also started to get more involved in the regular CS group in Los Angeles before I moved from there. I enjoy the culture of gifting and sharing and discovering things together. I also understand that once in awhile you just need a place to stay, and as someone who has trouble sleeping I am happy to accommodate that too!

Interests

I enjoy running, cooking, reading, knitting, sitting by campfires, and going outdoors. Once in awhile I can be persuaded to enjoy a bike ride. I like new and weird things, but I also need quiet, reclusive time. Also, plants. Plants are great.

Music, Movies & Books

Favorite book series: Dune and Harry Potter

Reading now: China and the Opium Wars

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I am awestruck when I see beautiful things, or when I feel love from other people.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Thailand, Ukraine, United States

Countries I've Lived In

France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kimberly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile