Jan Fidrmuc's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 87% response rate
  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 35 References 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, Slovak; learning Dutch, German, Russian
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Researcher, teacher, student, adventurer.
  • PhD
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I'm an easy-going person with a good sense of humour (which sometimes borders on sarcasm). I am an economist and university lecturer by profession and often wear my work hat even when I am not at work. I am generally a curious person so if you meet me, don ot be surprised if I end up asking you lots of strange questions. I love to meet new people, discover new places, learn about other cultures and make new friends. I relish good conversations, love good food, I am passionate about wine and I enjoy watching a good movie.

I live in West Drayton, West London, near Uxbridge and Heathrow. This is not central London! In fact, it is as far from central London as you can go, without leaving Greater London. Travelling to/from central London takes around an hour by public transport.


Don't Panic!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm keen to meet new people and see places. I couchsurfed in New Zealand and participated in CS activities in Tokyo, Hong Kong and London. I'm happy to host people too.


Tokyo, Hong Kong, New Zealand.


Sports (running, swimming, climbing, hiking, free diving), travelling, discussing economics, politics or history, wine and dark chocolate.

  • dining
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • running
  • walking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • economics
  • history
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I love movies and books that surprise me and make me think. I hate those in which the ending is predictable already at the beginning.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Free-diving by coral reefs in the Red See (Eilat). Climbing vie ferrate in Italian Dolomites. Walking along the Great Wall in China.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a teacher (at a university) and researcher (yes, economics is a science). I'm interested in people's behavior and decisions in various markets -- and in my research, I addressed markets as diverse as the labor market, political market (elections) and the marriage market. If you entice me, I'll be happy to share my opinions and theories with you -- and in turn ask you lots of questions about your behavior and decisions in one of the markets that I'm currently interested in.

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups