Logo orange

Hannah Parschat

Harstad, Troms, Norway

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hannah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German, Norwegian Bokmål; learning Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Slave of the western society
  • Preofessional Backpacker
  • From Made in Germany, delivered in Netherlands, transferred to Norway
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Into the Wild

ABOUT ME

As you can see, I am just me. I almost feel invincible when i travel, and my greatest dream is to have my home on my back, and being able to survive on my own, no matter where I'd end up.
Almost my whole life I've lived on a small, organic farm, but i originally come from Germany. My family is joined by 6 members: My parents who are both doctors in our little island-community, me, and my 3, younger siblings.

Me as a person; a bit shy, and full of empathy. I think I think too much sometimes, because easy things often get unintelligible. Also, I don't like choosing, because I never know what I will miss then.
I think that I'm creative and aesthetic, and have a very lively fantasy. I love creating things, and have heaps of hobbys, like needlework, painting, whittling, writing and music.
The 1st of February 2012, I arrived home again, after 7 months away. I spent 3,5 months in the States, Westcoast, visiting national parks, wwoofing, couchsurfing and camping. It was a great experience, and I promised myself it's not gonna be the last one.
Next stop was Cuzco, Peru, where I couchsurfed too. After hanging out with a bunch of great couchsurfers for 2 weeks, I went to Arequipa where I worked in the orphanage "Casa Verde" for 2 months. Having a great experience both with the kids and with my host family who introduced me to a culture which you as a tourist never would get in touch with.
The whole idea about this trip was to test myself, and to return with a clearer idea of what to do later in my life.
I have spent the last 5 months on earning money, buying tickets and getting visas, and am now off to Europe for 2 months, and will hopefully end up in Canada later, where I'll try to get a job, or enjoy winter sports for 4-5 months.

My family's home is in the northern part of Norway. Here we have all the peace and freedom you could ever wish, and i would say one of the most beautiful natures too!
We have both huge, white mountains, green forests and white sand on our island. The winter here is very dark and long, but we have the beautiful arctic light/aurora borealis, and the summer is light 24 hours a day. In winter we go skiing or ice-skating, and in summer we go swimming, fishing, paddling, cycling, climbing mountains and camping, or just chilling in the garden with a good book.

On our farm we have two cats, one dog, one horse, an ox, chickens and sheep. In the garden we grow lots of vegetables, and different berries.

PHILOSOPHY

I learned a very important thing not long ago. Its super important that one not gets controlled by someone, and that even though people only want the best for you, it may not be the right thing. And if you're generally unhappy with your life and situation, try to turn it upside down, do things you normally never do, and you'll know what I mean.

Also, when it comes to the problem that there are sooo many idiots in this world, don't make it your problem. Make yourself your problem, and opportunity. If you feel sorry for animales with no liberty, don't eat meat. If you think the global pollution really is a problem, don't drive a car of take planes. If you think the security system and paranoia of the USA is crazy, be trusting and open your home to people.
It's your own life and world, and you choose what to do with it.

Mashed potatoes, why do you hate mashed potatoes?

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'll use CS while travveling, and hopefully to host someone too! I hope that I will get contacts and friends here, and that the exchange of cultures, interests and experiences will teach me a lot, and that I maybe could give other persons positive experiences and memories.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Sooo great! My parents loved hosting people while I was on the road, and I had great times on the places I stayed, and with the nice people staying here when I was back. CouchSurfing has almost become a big family for me, where I have so many siblings that I don't know them all yet!

Interests

I love my garden, my flowers, the grass, trees, the rabbits passing by and seagulls flying over the treetops.
I love walking around there with a cup of tea in my hand, or sitting on the light orange bench, reading books or planning trips.
Painting rocks and wood and making things look happy with some new colour, while listening to woodstock music and drinking tea, you couldn't ever wish more.
Piano, guitar, singing (when alone), being naked, hiking, campfires made in rain, rockclimbing, slacklining, kayaking, rafting, and meeting people with the same interests.
Also I really enjoy my jobs, in a nursery and in a nursing home. Listening to someone telling you everything about the plants you are surrounded by, and making and seeing them grow, is pretty amazing. But also taking care of them who cannot do it themselves anymore, and understanding what great life and spirit is hidden behind a tired, old body, gives me a lot of respect.

Music, Movies & Books

I am a big Pink Floyd fan, and my dad and I went to a Pink Floyd concert June 2011, which was fantastic!
Im addicted to music, and listen to lots of different genres, but most from the 60ths-90ths. Rock, reggae, hiphop chillout, psychedelic rock, psytrance, house etc. I never watch TV, but at work i listen to the radio a lot, and mostly to a channel which plays the same 7 songs over and over again, with the worst commercials imaginable.. amazing how brainwashing that stuff can be!

Movies, I love Pink Floyd - The Wall.

I love reading, and especially fantasy is a genre I relax to and read in my bed.
Books about the Amazonas, psychedelic plants, philosophy, indigenous people, flowers and gardening, and some political books are interesting too. In general, i like books that teach me something.

Some examples are; Aldous Huxley- Brave New World, Carlos Castaneda- The teachings of don Juan

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The most amazing experience so far is how much happiness i have felt during my trip.
And the feeling of falling in love, the kind of love you don't get over in a looong time

Teach, Learn, Share

I could maybe teach you something about the local plants here, what to eat and what to leave.
I'd love to learn how to meditate, one day, and how to highline over the Yosemite Falls in California!

Countries I've Visited

Chile, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Peru, Spain, Sweden, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Belgium, Netherlands, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Hannah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile