Parisa Eshrati's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Parisa’s full profile.

Overview

  • 34 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Persian (Farsi)
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • University of Arizona
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

live fearlessly

---

** IMPORTANT NOTE: Please read the "My Home" section before you send me a request. I will automatically decline any copy/paste requests. I get a high volume of CS requests. If you're just gonna write a sentence or two saying "hey I need a place to crash" I'm not going to accept it. Personalize your request so I know you read my profile and my house rules. I'm glad to offer my home, but only to people who I can trust will be respectful.

I'm happy to host folks who are looking for someone to show them around, as well as travelers who have their own itinerary and are more independent. Just let me know what you're looking for, 'cause I also have a busy work schedule and wanna make sure I'm the right host for you.

I also do not accept open ended requests. We will have to work out exact dates of when you're coming or going. **

***ALSO VERY SUPER IMPORTANT!! I accept people from all walks of life into my home, but I absolutely will not host anyone who has their beliefs rooted in hate. This means no transphobic, homophobic, xenophobic, MAGA Trump supporter bullshit. There is no room in my home for hate, bigotry or ignorance.****

---

ABOUT ME

I'm a proud little desert rat living in Tucson. I'm first generation American, grew up in Phoenix, moved to Tucson for University and never left. I've been here for six years and I love showing people this strange, shitty and beautiful little city.

I went to school for psychology, worked in an evolutionary psychology lab, and spent a lot of time philosophizing on "the self" and leading myself into frequent extensional crises. Though I still love this kind of research, I realized that working in a lab was not for me (i couldnt stand staring at a computer screen any longer!).

I currently DJ at a local, free-format radio station (KXCI, 91.3). I used to DJ and work at the University radio station, and it was there that I found my passion for curating playlists and immersing myself in music journalism. I also work once a week at a record store downtown, and also picked up a job at an independent art house cinema. I feel blessed to work at some of my favorite spots that Tucson has to offer!

I also enjoy writing about music. I created a website this past year: www.trialanderrorcollective.com It's a place I share for anyone who is passionate about music. I also conduct artist interviews, run a podcast, and create a seasonal zine that's distributed around town and a few other cities.

I love, love, love meeting new people and learning from others. I want to meet you and hear about your walk of life!

PHILOSOPHY

"Human beings are a part of a whole, called by us _universe_, a part limited in time and space. They experience themselves, their thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest... a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CouchSurfing is a beautiful way to bring people from all facets of life together and learn about new cultures, different personalities, and even about yourself. It's really changed my perspective and opened myself up to others as well.

I've hosted travelers many times, not always through CS though. I meet a lot of travelers and offer them a place to stay after we get talking. If it weren't for CS I definitely wouldn't have grown to be open to situations like this. I'm very grateful for the CS community to open me to such experiences.

Interests

going to shows, writing about music, pomegranates, seeing $3 B movies every Monday at The Loft Cinema, meeting new people, lucid dreaming, potbelly pigs, evolutionary psychology, animal rights, vegetarian/vegan lifestyles, taking naps in the sun, radio broadcasting, DIY clothing, the desert, and exploring Tucson.

  • animals
  • writing
  • diy
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • movies
  • music
  • journalism
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I couldn't possibly sum everything up here. I'd love to talk about music with you for hours! I love everything from black metal to musique concrete to house music to bluegrass etc. etc. etc.

Movies: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Fountain, Goodfellas, The Fall, Being John Malkovich, The Graduate, The Fifth Element, Requiem for a Dream, Everything is Illuminated, Small Time Crooks, This is Spinal Tap, Good Burger, Natural Born Killers

Books: The Mysterious Stranger, The Art of War, Be Here Now, We, The Hobbit

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In Switzerland I found a little bench off the trail in the middle of the Alps. I sat there for hours while listening to Dayvan Cowboy by Boards of Canada on repeat while taking in the whole view. It was beautiful :'-)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some phrases in Farsi and share some tea. I'm open to learning just about anything, but I'd be really down with learning how to cartwheel.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Parisa’s full profile.