Thomas Bahnsen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 98% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile.

Overview

  • 89 references 77 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian, Swedish; learning German
  • 61, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Economist
  • MBA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Be present - Now

ABOUT ME

I would be more than happy to meet you and show you around in Oslo. This has been my domestic city for the last 25 years, have also lived in California (3 years), Wyoming (1 year) and Finland (2 years). I studied pol sci, economics and business in San Diego, U.S. I meditate and love to run/jog, like cafes and art and books and music and movies, look at the light side of life..

PHILOSOPHY

We are all part of the same emotional "ecosystem", so if we hurt others we hurt ourselves. Most thoughts and judgements are simply projections.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Live in Oslo, a great place, love to become acquainted with new people

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Minor experience as CS guest (once in Tarragona, Spain), so mostly as host, but have travelled to at least 25 countries; stayed in Barcelona 20 times (meditation), London 20 times, Paris 25 times, New York 4 times, San Fransisco 8 times, other places of interest: Bratislava, Munich, Utrecht, Manila, Occidental Mindoro for 5 weeks, Stockholm, Tallin, Yerevan, Djakartra, Praha, Edinburgh, Rome, Siena, Tuscany, Portugal, Helsinki, Barcelona, Tarragona, Alcover, Aberdeen, Oxford, Brighton, Cambridge, York, Whitby, Palermo, Washington, Amsterdam, Croatia, York, Marseille, Montpellier, Avignon

Interests

Culture, movies, art, books, architecture, city planning, technology, Zen-buddhism, meditation

  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • architecture
  • running
  • meditation
  • technology
  • movies
  • music
  • opera
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • business
  • economics
  • nature
  • buddhism
  • zen
  • san diego
  • utrecht
  • travelling.
  • being present
  • now
  • helsinki
  • st. cuthberts way

Music, Movies, and Books

Shakespeare, David Bowie, Garbage, Gaate (Gåte), Rolling Stones (the 60´s music only), the movie "Romeo and Juliet," the Simpsons, Donnie Darko, Batman, Dark Knight, Casablanca, Stendal, Donna Tartt, Little Jinder, Ji Nilsson, Knausgård, Veronica Maggio, Laleh, Siri Hustvedt, Jorja Smith

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watched the sun set and rise in the Spanish Pyrenees for six consecutive months, Seen the cliff divers in Acapulco jump past me, solo-parachuted six times outside Helsinki, meditated 10-14 hours a day for six months in Spain

Teach, Learn, Share

I am also a part-time meditation teacher, besides my regular work....... And always love to learn about others by communicating and interacting with them...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Compact but modern 2 room apt (55 m2) (well, it is a 100m2 2-floor - 5 room apt, but I rent out rooms to students on 4th floor) with balcony view towards a green park (in Summer - white or grey in Winter). 1-2 nights on couch is fine, but only space for one guest at a time. Very central location in Old Oslo, only 15 min walk/5-7 min by tram from Opera and Oslo Central Station, as well as the Oslo bus depot.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Thomas’s full profile.

My Groups