Logo orange

Pasan's Groups

Pasan Weerasinghe

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pasan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • No languages listed
  • 22, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • We're both students!
  • Both enrolled in university, so ther...
  • From Surrey, BC, Canada
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To appear on the Price is Right and win both showcase prizes. By any means possible.

ABOUT ME

Canadians, 20 (M) and 21 (F). Both university students (engineering, chemistry respectively) going on a road trip for our summer break. We're both outgoing, enjoy new experiences and meeting new people. And of course, traveling!

We both have very broad tastes in music and many passions elsewhere! We're generally chill people :)

More on Pasan:
Oh, hello there. You're putting me on the spot! If I'd have to give you more details about myself, I'd start with the fact that new experiences are what push me forward in life. I'm always looking to try new things, meet new people and explore new areas. I fight the internal struggle between two sides of the coin, science and arts, as I feel that both are awesome and I don't know which to put more of my time into! I'm studying electrial engineering and love building and creating things (I'll keep you posted on the progress of my robot!). I'm also huge into music and songwriting - I'm currently on the path to discovering my sound and can't wait to get to the point where I can start releasing music. I also LOVE comedy - comedic writing and timing intrigues me and I want to perform some more standup moving forward.

Meeting new people is awesome. I can't wait to meet you! Yes you. Unless I already know you. Cause then you're not new. But that doesn't mean I don't think you're awesome. Okay? Cool.

More on Julia:

Oh geez....me? Well first off, I hate writing these things and for 2 reasons. The first is that it'€™s so hard to define myself in a little blurb because I am so random and I enjoy a variety of different things. So I don't want you creating some preconceived notion of who I am based on my interests, because most likely, that'€™s not who I am. Second, I hate rambling on about myself. But for the spirit of this, how about I make a short list of all my current favourite things and then a quick blurb about what I am currently doing with my life, and then we can go from there? Cool beans.

-Trail running
-Podcasts (Adam Carolla, Pop My Culture)
-Comedians
-Nature: I've always loved this one but feel my true appreciation for it didn’t blossom until this past year, especially after I moved to TO in Sept.
-Listening to records
-Setting a destination, then starting out as far as possible and then walking aimlessly for hours until I reach it
-Violin: I took this instrument up when I was 8, and played until I was 13. When I entered high school, I used the excuse that I wouldn’t have time to continue it because I hated practicing. But then again, what adolescent actually enjoys practicing? 8 years later, something in me sparked, so I decided to take it up again. Turns out I actually enjoy practicing.

I'm about to enter my 4th year of university. I am studying chemistry in Toronto, but am home in BC for the summer. Living in Ontario (Kingston then the big TO) has literally been a life changing experience. Being put into a-whole-nother world and then forced to quickly adapt on my own, I've learned a lot about myself and the world. I've finally started to appreciate myself, where I came from and everything that happened in my childhood. I'm finally becoming more comfortable with myself, which in turn has helped me discover my identity. Maybe it's called growing up. But who knows, all I can say is that moving away from home has sure helped me grow up faster and has given me a whole different outlook on life.

After my undergrad, I hope to pursue a M.Sc in food science.

PHILOSOPHY

Pasan: New experiences keep me going. Being present to the moment and pushing your comfort zone are awesome things to strive for. Also, trying to express my philosophy in words is not part of my personal philosophy.

Julia: Try not to set expectations in life, you'll only end up disappointed.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We've just stumbled onto couchsurfing as we plan our road trip down to California, but we both love the idea and plan on both hosting and surfing from here on.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We're actually couchsurfing virgins.. but we're very much looking forward to having some memorable experiences!

Interests

Pasan: Music & music composition, electrical things, new experiences, learning new skills, being canadian, eating awesome food, meeting interesting people, hockey, comedy & comedic writing

Julia: exploring, tacos, running, music, jenga, smoothies, science, yoga, tea

Music, Movies & Books

PASAN:

Movies: Fight Club, Django Unchained, LOTR: ROTK, 500 days of summer, Backdoor Sluts 3 (the acting in 2 is meh)

Music: Mainly progressive rock+metal (Animals as Leaders, Tesseract, BTBAM), but I enjoy acoustic, classical, bluegrass, rock, post-hardcore, death metal.. pretty much everything. except country. :)

Books: That children's book about fish that has sparkly scales for the fish inside. You know what I'm talking about.

JULIA:

Movies- Anything by Wes Anderson and Tarantino- to be honest, I don't watch a lot of movies

Music- underground hip-hip, classical Indian, oldies, folk, classical guitar

Books- I SPY, kurt vonnegut

TV- I watch more TV than movies....so I feel it appropriate to add this in, plus I was feeling a little rebellious....Seinfeld, The League, Entourage, The Sopranos, Modern Fam, Art Attack, Breaking Bad (Typical, eh!? But honestly, who doesn't love this show. No question mark, because I know this is a fact. )

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Pasan: performed a standup routine at a comedy club

Julia: Saw 3/4 sides of the grand canyon

Teach, Learn, Share

Pasan - [teach] sevenstring guitar, electrical engineering (I'll help you build stuff that lights up!), comedic timing

Julia- I can teach you to play the violin, but warning, I'm not very good myself; I'd love to learn how to beat box; I'll share my smile and laughter in exchange for good times and new experiences.

Join Couchsurfing to see Pasan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile