Logo orange

Patrick Duplessis

Montréal, Québec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 16 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Japanese, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Graduate student, research intern
  • Meteorology, physics, chemistry
  • From Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn to play an instrument

ABOUT ME

I'm a student in Earth and Atmospheric Sciences (meteorology) at UQAM, in Montréal. I'm also a research assistant in that field. I try to enjoy life as much as possible by discovering new places around and traveling to non-too-touristic places. I don't have a lot of time during the year where I can go out of the country for a week or more due to school+work, so I can't travel as much as I would like to but I can live with that so far.. always thinking forward about my next trip though.

In the last few years, I've really become more sensitive about protecting the nature and having eco-friendly habits. I also participate in increasing the greenery inside my university campus buildings. My work desk is pretty much filled with baby plants dipping in the water so that they grow roots and once in a while I make new pots for empty windows. I love it! :)

PHILOSOPHY

I think it's important to make a difference in the world, as little as it can be.

My new philosophy: "Seuls ceux qui ont des cheveux longs ont peur, car personne ne peut tirer les cheveux de celui qui n'en a pas." (The idea is: the more you own inside your head the more you'll go ahead, while the more you own outside will slow you down.)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I started my CouchSurfing experience in Iceland which I think was a really good thing. First because Icelandic people are amazing and so generous, and second because I wouldn't have enjoyed Iceland as much if I hadn't used CouchSurfing. I didn't surf at anyone's place there, I just met surfers, but my experience was worth it. I didn't expect it to be so interesting, so rewarding. Maybe I was just lucky but I don't think so... We all have that same passion, about travelling and discovering other cultures, can't make anything else than a good time when we meet.

Since then I have been hosted several times by great hosts in: Sault Ste. Marie (Canada), Moscow (Russia), St. Petersburg (Russia), Burlington (VT, USA), Berlin (Germany), Poznan (Poland), Vienna (Austria), Nome (AK, USA), Ushuaia (Argentina).

Interests

Music (also singing), reading (with a cup of tea), travelling, meteorology, photography, languages, astronomy, running.

Music, Movies & Books

BOOKS: Kafka on the Shore (Haruki Murakami), Ru (Kim Thuy), The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)... reading is a new interest for me, I don't have a lot of favourites so far, but I'm looking forward to it. I'm reading "Son" by Lois Lowry right now.

MUSIC: Kelly Clarkson, Jónsi, Sigur Rós, Owl City, Joe Hisaishi, [formerly] some K-Pop and even some video-game music. Big vocal divas songs are always great to belt out at karaoke too :)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Aurora borealis in New Brunswick on our way back from Halifax. Visiting Harvard University with a student who showed me some "secret places". That red lake near Fermont, Quebec. It really looks like a big blood reservoir, I didn't take any pictures unfortunately... The beauty of Iceland: Icy Gullfoss Falls, Milky Blue Lagoon coming around the road makes the scenery weird in a great way, Bus trip from Reykjavik to Akureyri where I couldn't stop looking through the window for 5 hours. Hike around Nome, Alaska: We were lucky enough to get a sunny and rather warm day to hike up the hills just North of Nome. The view was amazing; It was a great Arctic landscape!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can read/write Korean (without understanding much which makes it pretty useless) and I can teach French of course. I can also teach a few mental calculation techniques.

I want to learn more languages (improve Japanese, Spanish and especially German) and my goal for 2015 is to learn to play an instrument (I keep on pushing that.. -_-).

What I Can Share With Hosts

My experience and vision of life. I think it covers a lot of potential conversations already.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Korea, Republic of, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile