Logo orange

Patrick Bastien

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Haitian, Haitian Creole, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • University Student
  • Bachelors in Electrical Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to connect with like minded souls all over the planet.

ABOUT ME

**NOTE: February 8th 2013 - I'm now studying at the University of Freiburg. I'll be here minimum till 2015 so if you're in the area send a note ;-) **
I'm a Haitian American born and raised in NY. I grew up speaking Engish and little bit of Creole in my parent's home. I learned Spanish during my travels to latin america. I'm looking forward to learning French and maybe even German in the near future. I live at the very northern end of this amazing part of NYC called Manhattan, I'm sure you've heard of it ;-) I'm currently taking courses at City college for my Masters in biomedical engineering. I work part time as sales person which keeps me very busy but i enjoy things that way. I'd like to meet folks to share fun times with in the City. Since I intend to travel at least twice a year it would be great to make friends I could meet up with where ever I decide to visit.

PHILOSOPHY

I'm all about the golden rule. I try my best to treat others like I'd want to be treated given the situation. I'm open minded and respectful of others perspective but clear about my limits.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

**NOTE: April 11th 2015 - I've now surfed once with my girlfriend and met up with fellow surfers in Freiburg as my girlfriend is a very good host herself, when time allows I enjoy talking to other surfers about their travel experiences.

**NOTE: February 2011 -I've just started but I did go to a meeting recently and attended a couchsurfer's charity benifit. It was an amazing time and I had great conversations with very cool people.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

**NOTE: April 11th 2015 - Only did it once with my girlfriend so far but I've met plenty of surfers over the years and have had a great time getting to connect with folks in the community.

**NOTE: February 2011 - I have no experience yet with surfing couches through this website. Of course I've made friends all over the world and slept on their couch from time to time but that was with out this site. I'm hoping to make more friends this way and visit more places too.

Interests

**Note: Sept. 29th 2014 - My girlfriend and I enjoy learning cuban salsa, maybe one day we'll find a way to make it to Cuba...wishful thinking, I know ;-)

**NOTE: February 2011 (text below)**

I've been dancing New York style Salsa for a few years and I really enjoy it. I'd like to improve my Cha cha and Bachata as well.

In the summer time I like to check out outdoor festivals. They have one every weekend in Manhattan during the summer.

Of course I enjoy learning different languages. I have a CELTA certification and I've taught English as a second language in the past so I can definitely be a good conversation partner for those that want to practice their English.

Music, Movies & Books

I really enjoy foreign thrillers with intricate plots that keep me guessing what will happen next till the end.

I like to read books on positive thinking and self actualization.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

In high school I was given the privilege to represent my school in an interfaith exchange which took myself and 11 other students from the Catholic and Jewish religion to Israel for two weeks. We toured the country up from the Golan Heights to the Dead Sea, it was an unforgettable trip which gave me this amazing incite into a world I scarcely new about.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've taken classes to teach English as a second language (CELTA) and I can help others that need to practice. I also know how to dance Salsa at an intermediate level so that can be helpful as well. Also if some one wants to move to New York permanently I have experience in the real estate business that can help make the transition smoother. I'm looking to learn more about cooking and wine as well as languages like French and German.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Mexico, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I've Lived In

Haiti, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Patrick's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile