Paul Moritz's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 39 References 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • B.Sc. Civil Engineeing and Management and following a M.A...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Getting to know Hamburg

ABOUT ME

I grew up in Lübeck, where I spent the first 19 years of my life. After graduating from school, I did a gap year before I started my university studies. During that year, I lived in the UK working as an au-pair and travelled half a year with my backpack. Afterwards, I went to university in Leipzig and studied Civil Engineering and Management. When I graduated in the summer 2016, I moved to Hamburg to start my graduate studies in International Business and Sustainability, which I enjoy a lot.

PHILOSOPHY

'The only wrong decision you can make, is to make no decision at all.'

- Alan Donovan

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

In my opinion, CS is not about saving money but about sharing experiences. Making new friends far away from home, being able to get an authentic impression of foreign cultures and also sharing your own philosophy is what makes CS worth doing it. For me, CS is connected with values like hospitality, trust, charity, open-mindedness and, maybe most of all, respect.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had my first CS experiences in Dubai, where I explored the city together with my host and a couple of other surfers. These days back in 2013 really kick-started my fascination about CS because of the amazing time we had togehter. Back then, Dubai was only a stop-over on my way to New Zealand and Australia, where CS enabled me to get an impression of the authentic way of life. After returning to Germany, I was keen to return the favor and showed people around Leipzig and Hamburg. At the moment, I am travelling a lot with my girlfriend Laura and we are looking forward to meeting lovely couchsurfers in the foreign places we will visit :)

Interests

I've always liked to do a large variety of sports such as floorball, soccer, skiing, tennis or triathlon. In Leipzig in played in a floorball club, where I also took on the job as the coach, which I enjoyed a lot after a short settling-in period.

Since I started with my studies at the university, I always engaged in student groups and other extra curricular activities. In Leipzig, I took part in the student council whereas I am working at the largest student consultancy for social organizations and non-profits, 180 Degrees Consulting, in Hamburg. At both universities, I have supported international student as a buddy and helped them to settle down in the respective cities.

Another important part of my life is the music. I've played the guitar since I was 8 and played in a band for a couple of years, which was a lot of fun. At the moment, I lack the time for setting up a new band project but always welcome the opportunity to jam a little with old or new friends ;)

  • concerts
  • triathlon
  • politics
  • board games
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • skiing
  • sports
  • soccer
  • tennis
  • economics
  • sustainability
  • biking
  • fotography
  • floorball

Music, Movies, and Books

There is lots to mention here but I just give you a few examples:
Forrest Gump, The Sting & all James Bond movies
Coldplay, Mando Diao & Boyce Avenue
Ken Follett & Dan Brown

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Doing 16.000 km around Australia without hitting a kangoroo.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always keen to learn from other people's way of life and to share my own skills, including some on the guitar ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups