Paul Gubernachuk

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Illustrator, Filmmaker, Photographer
  • Videography Diploma
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Travel the world!


HEY EVERYONE!!! I'm from Canada and have been traveling across Asia and Europe since 2012. Now I've got my sights set on enjoying new experiences in new places! My ultimate goal is to live adventurously, make friends all over the world and be courageous enough to challenge myself and try anything twice! This year I would like to do some serious long distance trekking! I'm a ball of energy and a kid at heart. I enjoy simple pleasures and love diving head first into the local culture of every country I visit!
I enjoy the feeling of getting lost in new places. It helps me stay open to new experiences and opportunities. Also, it helps to gloss over the fact that I have a terrible sense of direction! lol!
Ultimately, I wish to touch the heart of every person I meet. In my daily walk, I do my best to practice humility, positivity, and much gratitude. My biggest goal in life is summed up in a quote from Mr. Rogers:
"As human beings, our job in life is to help people realize how rare and valuable each one of us really is, that each of us has something that no one else has- or ever will have- something inside that is unique to all time. It's our job to encourage each other to discover that uniqueness and to provide ways of developing its expression."


Live simple, choose to be happy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I engage and embrace local culture as much as possible wherever I am, do my best to live in the present moment, share stories and smiles with the people I meet!


So far, I've surfed in Canada, India, South Korea, Turkey, Belgium, and France.


I love to fully immerse myself in any environment I find myself in. Just took up surfing and ukulele. I want to learn at least 2 Asian languages. Korean and Mandarin in particular. I enjoy documenting my travels with photography and video. I love stuff like giant robots, dinosaurs, outer space, and chasing rainbows. Life is good.

Music, Movies, and Books

Anything from the 80's!!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Started surfing, and I don't know how to swim!
Hiked up an active volcano.
Explored 1000-year-old monasteries in the Himalayas.

Teach, Learn, Share

My professional background is in graphic art & illustration using traditional and also digital means with Photoshop. Also digital video production and photography. I am happy to share my knowledge in these areas, and I am always seeking to improve my skills by learning from others.
I learn like a sponge- absorbing all the good stuff around me, and would love to learn many new things including languages, chocolate making, and website design.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Big smiles, good times, good vibes!
Help with cooking, cleaning, pets, computer troubleshooting, and other general household tasks!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Romania, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, India, South Korea, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups