Logo orange

Paulistravelling

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Maybe Accepting Guests

98% response rate · Last login 7 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Paulistravelling's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 485 Positive References3 Neutral
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 54, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Primary School Teacher
  • University and through travel!
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live every day to the fullest and to travel as much as possible.

ABOUT ME
I offer my couch to solo travellers.
I am not currently hosting couples or groups of people.

My couch is only available some of the time (usually weekends), as now I have breaks between hosting so I can spend time with my family and friends in Melbourne.

Firstly and most importantly, I have a dog named Bella who is gorgeous but lively and friendly. Please if you don't like dogs or you are scared of them please don't request my couch as Bella is very important to me and whilst she is super friendly she can be a bit full on.

I'm very much an outdoor person who loves nature. I can sit and watch kangaroos, koalas, whales, penguins....for hours. I just love all forms of wildlife.

I'm a very positive person who can see good in all people. I'm very passionate about my life and I enjoy making the most of it. I am a 54 year old primary school teacher living in Melbourne. I am in the fortunate position of working one year and then traveling the next. I like to laugh, so I enjoy being around happy and positive people.

Things I like:wildlife- bushwalking and nature a glass of red wine, afl football, watching movies, music - most types, picnics, travelling, table tennis, trying to play pool, dinner with friends, going to the beach and bodysurfing, walking to beautiful places -mountains and beaches, teaching the kids in my class, being in bed and listening to the rain fall outside, being scared when watching a thriller movie, vegemite, tim-tams, sunsets, laughing and a nice hot shower on a freezing day

PHILOSOPHY

To live for the moment and to lead an interesting and happy life!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I expect you to leave the house when I do. I also want you to go out and explore the city of Melbourne as it is very beautiful and I don't want couchsurfers hanging around the house all day. I don't leave couchsurfers in the house alone...so please work around my schedule!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I've been with couchsurfing for eight years now and I still love hosting people from all over the world. I have met some amazing people and made some fantastic friends along the way.

Interests

I like music, watching movies, photography, art, reading, AFL football, wildlife, bush walking and of course traveling. I like going out for dinner as well. I am interested in protecting the environment and I really enjoy teaching the kids at school about conservation and caring for animals. I want to write a book about my travels, not so much to publish but for myself!!!

Music, Movies & Books

My favourite book is A Long Way Home -Saroo Brierley

I like all types of music. Favourites Cat Stevens, Bob Dylan,The Police, and Queen.

My favorite movies are Good Will Hunting, Taken, Pulp Fiction, Into the Wild, City of God, Copy Cat, American Beauty, Paris Je Táime, Amelie and the Kite Runner.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

A few things Ive done in my travels:
-trekked through the Himalayas
-volunteered and worked in an orphanage in
Malawi and also helped out in a womens art program in
South Africa.
-been on safaris in Namibia and South Africa which were
just amazing as the wildlife was brilliant.
-traveled throughout Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan
and Egypt seeing the pyramids and Petra.
-went hot-air ballooning in central Australia
-rode down the most dangerous road in Bolivia
-four wheel drive through Uyuni Salt Plains
-got attacked by wild dogs in a remote jungle area of Laos

Favorite Cities - Melbourne, Buenos Aires, Rennes, Paris, Cuzco, Varanassi, Pokhara, Florianopolis, Wellington, Boston, Berlin, Basel, Copenhagen, Munich, Fribourg, Saigon, Lisbon, Bordeaux, Rabat, Casablanca, Istanbul and Sydney

Teach, Learn, Share

http://paul-is-in-france.blogspot.com/
I admire any person who travels and is keen to learn about different cultures.

https://www.facebook.com/paul.parrotte.12

What I Can Share With Hosts

I can offer good conversation and also good company.
I am a very positive person and I have a great outlook on travel and life in general.
Sometimes I can take you to places away from the tourist areas.
I love the Australian wildlife so I can help you to experience this!

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malawi, Malaysia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Paulistravelling's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile