Pavlo Bazilinskyy's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pavlo’s full profile.


  • 105 references 84 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian, Ukrainian; learning Dutch, Finnish, German
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Assistant professor at TU Eindhoven
  • PhD in automated driving at TU Delft
  • From Chernihiv, Chernihiv Oblast, Ukraine
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Some say that I am easy-going, positive and a fun person. I don't know why they think that... I hope that if you are reading this, you would have a chance to make your own opinion about me 😉 What I can say about myself: I like a variety of sports, and I am always active; I am building my way up in this life, it's not been easy, but I enjoy hard work and the sense of a real accomplishment. I care about my family a lot, and close to me people will also be Number 1 in my life. In 2018 I defended my PhD at TU Delft on the topic of automated driving. Then I worked at the same university part-time as a postdoc working on communication between future cars and pedestrians. And I was spending the other days working part-time as a head of data science research in a startup SD-Insights. Now, I am an assistant professor at TU Eindhoven. Every year 1.4 million people die on the roads, 95% of them are killed because of human error. And I am trying to change it with my research. Ok, maybe it sounds like I am some kind of nerd, but I tend to think that it's not entirely true... I just like the flexibility of doing research. Most of my trips I have actually done at least partially for my study or work, where I work together with a company like Volvo or Nissan and then take a month off to explore some new horizons and meet people that can challenge the way I am looking at our world.

I am also trying to become one with everything and have some fun on the way there. My motto: Be kind and this life will be kind to you.

Some of my favourite quotes:
"The world is a book and those who do not travel only read one page." - St. Augustine
"Run when I can, walk when I cannot run, and creep when I cannot walk." - John Bunyan
"Life means An eternal test, And not an eternal rest." - Sri Chinmoy
"Love is life. Everything that can be understood, is understood only because of love" - Leo Tolstoy
"You have a right to your actions, but never to your actions’ fruits. Act for the action’s sake. And do not be attached to inaction." - Bhagavad Gita

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Sharing is caring! I am more than happy to offer my coach for all you crazy lovely people out there! Also, traveling is a passion of mine and if someone is willing to offer me some shelter on my way of exploring this planet, I would be very happy and grateful. I try to take the best out of every day I have on this planet, and CS is a very good tool for that 😌


Traveling, meeting amazing people and experiencing new cultures.... If a bit more down to regular days: playing guitar, running, fencing, playing chess and reading beautiful books. Traveling really is the most favorite thing to do for me in this life, though.

  • vegetarian
  • triathlon
  • marathon
  • running
  • chess
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cars
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • sports
  • fencing
  • cross-country skiing
  • saxophone

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite authors at the moment are Hermann Hesse and Fyodor Dostoevsky (my goodreads profile is I like all sorts of movies, especially I care about movies that have a meaning. As for my music, my taste is quite extensive and it changes every day (my profile is

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I think about it, my life is pretty normal and somewhat boring. I have not jumped with a parachute, nor I conquered Everest. But I am definitely going to attempt both of these endeavours during my life. My current passion is long-distance running, and one highlight is running a marathon in Copenhagen with my dad running next to me (he's super fast). I am also into cycling, and I participate in triathlons every once in a while (my strava profile is I also try to be regular in meditation and in 2016 I went for 10 days of silent Vipassana meditation. Oh, and in autumn 2017 I spent 5 days carving a marble alpaca on a hill in Tuscany (that was quite amazing).

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some saxophone and guitar, how to do some fencing or play chess. Or maybe even how to speak one of the language that I know. Ask my anything and I would be happy to share my knowledge 😀

What I Can Share with Hosts

My friendship and my willingness to accept the life position of the host, and their views on things around us. To me, CS is primarily about exploring new horizons and meeting new ways to treat our society and our planet. We can also cook together, do things together, if my host has some time. Depending on where I go, I often take my grandma's tea (she makes it herself) as a small token of my gratitude. It's something unique and people tend to like it 😌

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cabo Verde, Canada, China, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, U.S., Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Finland, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Pavlo’s full profile.

My Groups