Peter Carels's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in German
  • 77, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Playing drum and percussion with as many different people...
  • Advanced degree in German. Numerous drum/dance workshops.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

When on the road, I'm usually accompanying my drum to some percussion event or other. In the future, my wife and I will want to try couch surfing together, exploring parts of the country/world that are new to us.

ABOUT ME

Married. Have been in many European countries, also in Canada, Jamaica, Brazil, Peru, Costa Rica, Zanzibar, Tunisia, Kenya, Oman, and Japan. Like to bike, to explore new places and cuisines, meet people from all over, exchange views on politics and related issues (what isn't related these days?) . . . I'm a young 75 (because music and dancing keep me that way), six foot tall and 155 lbs. (so I fit on most couches).

PHILOSOPHY

To give to others.
To explore my talents.
To try to link these two.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Wanderers and travelers are always welcome to check out our home here in Oxford, OH (site of Miami U.), though we are certainly off the beaten track. We've hosted visiting musicians, theater people, students, scholars, friends and relatives -- the more the merrier. We can put up a couple, in a Queen-sized bed even. Always glad to help out a traveler on a tight budget.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

There was the time I put up a whole houseful of students who were feeling too happy to go home after a party. It was not an 'official' Couchsurfing Experience, however, as I am just now joining this group and it probably didn't even exist then. We usually have good dinner- or breakfast-table conversations with the guest(s). (Or after-performance chow-downs.) I couchsurfed in Austin, TX. We've had guests from Oregon, Canada, Nigeria . . .

Interests

I guess I put some of that into the 'all about you' section, so, well, there's also hiking, canoeing, swimming, gardening, listening to BBC, world music, languages, teaching, art, poetry, theater, volunteer work, . . .

  • arts
  • poetry
  • theater
  • performing arts
  • dancing
  • breakfast
  • running
  • partying
  • gardening
  • politics
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • socializing
  • music
  • world music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • track and field
  • swimming
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

This is getting to be such a long questionnaire. The list could be way too long for anyone to care about.
I'll name a recently seen movie I kind of liked: "The Station Agent." (So now, 11 years later, I'll add another one. "Roma.") Music: I wouldn't know where to begin. Many genres. Almost anything they play on WYSO or WGUC, but some country and "classic rock" and on and on . . . We've had several house concerts at our place. We once had Chris O'Brien here for one (that was 11 years ago also); that was great. Several more since. But now I'm seeing that I could have just as well put this in the next box "People I enjoy."

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lots of neat travel anecdotes, but ONE amazing thing? Hmmm. I guess I'd have to ruminate on that one. Hmmm. Maybe, just to get something out there, the time I was visiting (tourist) in a church (or was it a cathedral?) in Santa Fe and a brother came running up and said, "Quick, the guy who's supposed to do this isn't here; we need a bell ringer right now. Come with me." It turned out it was to ring the steeple bell (until he came back and said it was time to stop) to announce the beginning of probably the biggest religious procession/celebration in the city's yearly calendar.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: language (German), hand drumming, how to tune a djembe, many a West African rhythm (multiple parts) . . .

Learn: Whatever people are into that fascinates them and I take an interest in. Like this past summer it was "straw bale gardening," and Congolese drumming, among other things.

What I Can Share with Hosts

For sure, what to do in our little town and surrounding area. Arts, history, nature, some sporting activities, dining and drinking, etc. Spinning yarns about experiences in this or that place (see the list of countries in "ABOUT ME" at the top of this questionnaire). But note, I'm not the kind who's gonna talk your ear off. (We hope you're not, either.)

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, Japan

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.

My Groups