Pierre Babin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pierre’s full profile.

Overview

  • 34 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • UI Designer
  • Graphic Design
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi there 👋
I am Pierre, a user interface designer, who loves balancing his office-tech life by exploring the world and meeting new people. In the past years, travelling taught me a lot about life, people, and helped me define what really matters to me in this world. 

Keeping things as simple as possible and finding joy in the ordinary are two important aspects of my personality since I started to embrace a minimalist lifestyle. Living that way helps me to focus on the essentials and appreciate raw and simple moments on a daily basis.

 During my free time, I love to go bouldering and climbing (at least 3 times a week). I also have an obsession with documenting stuff and taking photos. Carrying only my phone in my pocket, I love creating visual stories and catching those little forgotten and unseen details of our daily lives. (take a look at my Instagram: @pierrebabin)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Firstly, I believe that the best way to travel is to experience things from a local perspective. No matter how independent and good you are at planning, there will always be a hidden gem that only locals know about and can suggest you to visit.



Secondly, my travel experiences showed me that wherever you go, what really matters is not only the places you visit, but also the people you meet, share experiences and moments with.

Finally, I got the chance to meet amazing and generous people through this platform during my travels. Giving it back to the community and hosting is definitely something I plan to do once I will be settled again.

Interests

Most of my interests turn around visual arts (photography, design, architecture). People often find it crazy that I cross a whole city just to visit a good looking café or wake up at 4 in the morning to appreciate sunrise over the city, but this is something I definitely do a lot!



As often as possible, I try to find myself surrounded by nature, to admire the natural beauty of this world and reload my inner energy. I particularly like doing it during a rainy/foggy day (my favourite weather).

Staying fit and healthy is also something important to me. Therefore, I will rather enjoy a morning/evening run or bike ride than drinking all night. (I do like drinking occasionally but definitely way less than most people!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

📷 One of my pictures has been featured in the 2016 Shot on iPhone campaign, by Apple 
✌🏻 Leaving all my life and belongings behind to go on a 2 years trip across Europe and Asia
🍡 Moving to Tokyo on the spur of the moment
🌎 Visiting 47 countries

Teach, Learn, Share

Beside my job that requires me staying up to date about the latest tech innovations, I am currently going through a phase where I don't necessarily want to learn something new but rather live in the moment, observe the world and document it with my current skills. Other than that, I am also really into climbing and bouldering, so if this is something you are interested in, I could definitely introduce you to this amazing sport!

What I Can Share with Hosts

📱 How to take stunning photos only with your phone
🌍 My travel experience as well as some crazy/funny (and scary) stories
🎒 How you don't need much material stuff in life to be happy
✈️ How to travel on a budget
🧗🏻‍♂️ Some bouldering / climbing skills

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, Myanmar, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Japan

Join Couchsurfing to see Pierre’s full profile.