PE-TER's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see PE-TER’s full profile.

Overview

  • 41 references 31 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Norwegian
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Volunteer helper traveller teacher translator guide
  • Highest studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

My name is Peter Van from Belgium.

THANKS TO ALL THE HOST(ESSE)S WHO TREATED ME AS A BROTHER!

Do not hesitate to ask me if you want to know anything about me or if I can help you in any way.

Since the beginning of January 2020 I have been in CHINA, it is a unique life experience! I have a mask, a green QR and have taken virus tests - all negative.

I travel with a sleeping bag and a mattress and I sleep on the floor. I don't smoke, eat everything, like all pets, and I live a very simple life.

If you have time and like it, I will spend time with you, if it is not possible for you, I am happy to be alone.

I have visited half of all countries in the world (am too lazy to mention them all in the list below...).
Hitchhiked twice through the Sahara from north to West Africa, around South Africa and neighbouring countries, in South America and Asia.
12,000 km cycling in India.
In 2014 I travelled by bicycle from Singapore to Europe through all Southeast Asian countries, China, all Central Asian countries, Iran, Armenia, Georgia, Turkey. In 2017 I cycled for 11 months in 24 European countries incl. from Malta to Moscow. In November 2018 I left Europe to travel over land to the other end of Eurasia (incl. cycling completely around Taiwan) and the last year I stayed in China.

The journey is the destination, but the longest trip is the journey to our inside.

CURRENT MISSION

I quit my job to travel, volunteer and help full time in Asian countries.

To visit the other half of all countries in the world.

To learn about and respect Asian and other values and cultures.

ABOUT ME

Happy to meet people and discover new places.

PHILOSOPHY

I wonder.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I inform people in many countries about Couchsurfing so they too can experience staying with locals or hosting travellers, even those who do not even own a couch!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Host(esse)s should REPLY when they receive a request: YES or NO, instead of not replying at all.
I've had only good experiences except that host(esse)s do not reply at all when receiving a request!

Interests

Nature, meeting, helping and respecting people from all backgrounds

  • cycling
  • mountaineering
  • hitchhiking
  • cultural immersion
  • inspiring people
  • cleaning
  • helping
  • volunteer
  • wild camping
  • pancakes
  • alternative lifestyles
  • diversity
  • alternative education
  • women empowerment
  • nature conservation
  • women's rights
  • rockclimbing
  • baking cakes
  • culture of different countries
  • responsible tourism
  • do to others as i want them to do to me

Music, Movies, and Books

Contemporary and classical music from all continents, non-fiction books, Bollywood and other -wood movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I came to this planet just like that without asking, without choosing within which lines on the map or with which skin/eye/hair colour, without knowing what will happen next, without any certainty (but death and taxes!) and (yet?) I am amazingly happy!

Teach, Learn, Share

Languages, life wisdom, history, story telling, sharing time with my guests and host(esse)s if they like it.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My respect, appreciation, my mind, my time, my energy, my memories, my hands, my experience (incl. cleaning) in half of all countries.

Countries I’ve Visited

Lesotho, San Marino, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Turkmenistan, Åland Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Malaysia, Réunion

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see PE-TER’s full profile.