Logo orange

Yisol Yanez

Santiago, Chile

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yisol's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 27 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning German
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Int. Development Student
  • BA in Poli Sci, Working on Masters
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

try to understand and learn from others as much as I can...

ABOUT ME

I enjoy being around creative people. Adventure, discovery,learning new things, or doing things I have never done before, are some of the things that make me love life... with that said, I love meeting new people from all over the world, learning new languages, and learning about other cultures, and traveling like a local.
I really enjoy having interesting conversations with people about anything and everything.
I like to dance a lot, ride my bike, hike, go out with friends, to read, go swimming, and go on adventures.

PHILOSOPHY

Live life to the fullest...and be as free as the world lets me be.
Work towards world peace...seriously
"the unexamined life is not worth living"

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Gone to a couple couchsurfing activities.

visited 15 states (30%)Create your own visited map of The United States or website vertaling duits?
<

~~

visited 12 states (5.33%)Create your own visited map of The World or Free ipad travel guide

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I surfed someone's couch in NYC (Brooklyn to be exact). Summer 2010. I was there with two more friends, and we stayed in a tent in the backyard. It was a great experience, and our host was very nice, unfortunately because of her work we were not able to spend a lot of time with her.

Jan. 2011, I CS in Barcelona, and then in Dublin, Feb. 2011, both of my hosts were really nice, showed me around and spent time with me. Great people. Can't wait to start hosting some day.

I was pretty active in the DC CS community when I lived there from 2911-2013.
I like participating in events that are organized by the members, all kinds of social and cultural events.

Interests

Languages, different cultures, dancing, skiing, hiking, camping, swimming, volleyball, having philosophical talks, goofyness, life, interesting people who open my mind to new things and ideas, learning something different every day :)

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Fleet Floxes, Bon Iver, Animal Collective, MGMT,Peter Bjorn & John, Noah & the Whale, the Cranberries, Radiohead, Phoenix, Yeah yeah yeahs, Pixies, Crystal Castles, Placebo, The postal Service, Los Prisioneros, Los Tres, Chico Trujillo, Violeta Parra, Makiza, Babasonicos, Enanitos Verdes, Mecano, Manu Chao, Aterciopelados, La Oreja de Van Gogh, Jarabe de Palo, Tryo, Louise Attaque, Nolwen Leroy, Les Wriggles, Jacques Brel, Noir Desir, La Rue Ketanou, Caetano Veloso, Yann Tiersen, Vivaldi

Movies: Le Fabuleux Destin d'Amelie Poulain, Good bye Lenin, Bienvenue chez les ch'tis, El Secreto de sus Ojos, Mar adentro, La vita e bella, Machuca, Midnight in Paris, a beautiful mind, the pianist,the shock doctrine (documentary)...

Books: Le petit prince, L'etranger, La casa de los espiritus, the diary of Anne Frank, The Davinci code, anything by Pablo Neruda, 1984, Animal Farm, Brave new world, the Hunger Games, the Kite Runner, A midsummer night's dream, The trial and death of Socrates...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hiked the Smoky Mountains in North Carolina for one week, and two of those days we got hit by a big storm with lightning which was kind of scary and very annoying to be wet from head to toe, but amazing at the same time, and ended our trip at a Cherokee reservation.

Seen the stars in clear sky of Chile, and stared at it for hours... it was just beautiful with no lights around for miles.

Stood in a line to get into a club in Berlin for two hours in -18C, probably the coldest I've felt in my life where I could no longer feel my bones.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Spanish, English and maybe some basic French...unfortunately I don't play any instrument, and I say unfortunately because I love music.
I would love to learn any other language, in particular: German, Italian and Arabic.
I have always wanted to learn to play guitar!
Besides that I am a very curious person, and I pretty much want to learn anything you want to teach me.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Chile, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Chile, France, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Yisol's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile