Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • English Teacher
  • Business, Psychology, Masters in TESOL, CELTA, DELTA
  • From Brisbane, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To meet people from all walks of life. Share my love for outdoor adventures. Connect. Live.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 30yr old gal from a small town in Australia. I currently live in Brisbane teaching English to international students. I am super active and friendly. I love getting out of town on the weekends and doing things like hiking, swimming, bike riding, camping, and horse riding.

For HOSTS, things you should know about me is that I'm super chill and responsible. I'm clean and quiet, but also out-going. I do my best to work around YOUR schedule :D I'm really good with sticking to house rules too!

For people looking to DO THINGS, I'd love to show you the best Brisbane has to offer in terms of outdoor adventure. I can also take you to the best spots in Brisbane such as cafes, clubs, bars, restaurants, markets, and general sight-seeing.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is too short.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I use CS to meet people visiting Brisbane and show them the fun parts of Brisbane and my lifestyle.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have used CS to surf through the USA. I used it in NY to meet cool people to go on adventures with. I also used it in Mexico to meet heaps of cool expats and explore Mexico. There's not a couch surfer I've not met who I have not liked! Everyone seems to have the best attitude when it comes to getting out and about.

Interests

Food, especially vegan/raw
Movies... omg ANYTHING!!! I love all kinds of movies! I'm trying to become more cultured by watching more foreign films, but occasionally I'll skip those for a good old fashion "Die Hard" film.
Fitness and exercise (love weight training)
Horse riding and animals
Nutrition
Bike riding
Sleeping
Talking about the environment, sometimes politics, gender equality, war, sex, psychology
The workplace - group behaviour and processes
English - love the structure of English!!
Learning about other cultures and their languages (comes with the territory of being an English language teacher)

  • animals
  • culture
  • fashion
  • environment
  • dining
  • wine
  • white wine
  • vegan
  • fitness
  • exercise
  • gyms
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • languages
  • psychology
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music... to be honest, I don't have a favourite genre. I'll listen to anything.
Books... fiction! Nothing with vampires... sorry.
Movies: anything that isn't a romantic comedy.
Some top movies:
Step brothers
Notes on a Scandal
All the Scream movies
Anything that's Horror (Graves Encounters was awesome!)
Julia's Eyes (Spanish)
Billy Madison
Bridesmaids

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The best thing I've seen/done was when I went to Cambodia and stayed on an island off the south coast. The sunset was spectacular! Because I'm Australian I've seen the Aussie outback, which is really beautiful, and our rain forests and beaches are something so unique!

The best person I ever met was a Korean girl named Ashley. She's a personal trainer at a few gyms in South Korea. She was so cool and offered me so much insight into Korean culture and the language. She's now one of my best friends :D

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach:
Horse riding and equine care
English
Australia and its people
How to make a sandwhich

Learn:
I want to know more about health and nutrition
Politics
Travel stories
Cultures, countries

Share:
A bottle of white wine (reds give me headaches... sad)
A good joke

Also, I'm LGBT friendly and I don't care where you are from or what your story is. If you're a positive, kind, honest person, we'll get along fine!

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, England, Mexico, New Zealand, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Mexico, South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Pen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups