Pesho Ivanov's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pesho’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Bulgarian, English, Russian; learning Portuguese, Serbian, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • PhD student, ETH
  • Applied Math and Informatics, Moscow State University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Always ready to smile. Most of my friends think I am an extrovert but I have some serious doubts: I enjoy being among different people and I am in a good mood for most of the time; but sometimes I need time for myself: reading, walking, thinking.

Love science in action. I prefer knowing nothing about everything instead of everything about nothing. Such a pity compromise...

I try to keep some safe distance from politics but I am generally center to left-wing oriented. I keep my optimism about our global society and want to keep changing it for good.

My personal website and blog: http://pesho.info/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe in a better opened world through more sharing. By resources like Wikipedia, by opensource software, by free licenses like Creative Commons, by less of closes science and journal monopoly, by trust to each other. I recognize CouchSerfing as one of the tools to help us know each other better and grow as a civilization.

Interests

"Serious": Applied science, Algorithms and Data structures, Bioinformatics
Relaxing: Hiking, Running, Photography, Bulgarian folk dances, Paragliding, Horseback riding
Communication: Popular science, discussing my friends' favourite topics, reading poems aloud :")

  • horses
  • writing
  • poetry
  • photography
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • paragliding
  • science
  • biking
  • genetics
  • algorithms
  • bioinformatics
  • reasoning
  • folkdance

Music, Movies, and Books

a book: Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman!
music: rock, instrumental
a movie: Gattaca

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Decided to follow a dream -- to get acquainted to science in a place like Russia instead of continuing the joy of an interesting everyday life with a the bunch of really good friends in Bulgaria.

I got nearer to the answer of life than Douglas Adams did: the precise number is 42.195 :") Later I ran 100km around Vitosha Mountain for ~13h.

Teach, Learn, Share

Can teach some basic waltz, Bulgarian dances, give popular overview over the scientific areas I am interested in (genetics, bioinformatics, computer science) as well as give your some initial push for paragliding, sailing and running.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Don't be shy to steal some of my time -- I will let you know when I need time for myself.

On the materialistic side, I feel best living in a neighborhood communism: feel free to occupy/use/eat everything you see in my home. If you are not sure whether something is appropriate or not -- it is. If something goes wrong, present your apologies. Keep your intentions good and enjoy :") If you want me to know that you read my profile, please include the number 42 somewhere in your message.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Montenegro, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bulgaria, Russian Federation, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Pesho’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups