Peter Bishop

Montréal, Québec, Canada

Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile. It’s free!


  • No occupation listed
  • school, travelling, meeting people
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm from Halifax, but I grew up abroad and then spent five years in Ontario (which is why I have no hometown listed! I'm geographically confused). I've been in Montreal for four years now though! It is my home for the moment.

I don't mind last minute requests - I know how plans change a lot when you're travelling! But please don't write me a copy/paste request. I will unfortunately say 'no', even if you seem cool in your profile.

I like spending time outside - I dress for the weather and get out there. I love exploring the city and trying new things. I'm taking a break from drinking, until February! Tea's cool though.

I'm gay but I'm straight-friendly :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

- build connections with travellers and locals
- remember that there's different ways of living and approaching life
- couchsurfers' contagious sense of adventure
- the closest you get to travelling when you're not travelling
- pay forward the amazing hospitality that people have shown to me when I have been travelling


Camping, hiking, cycle touring/long distance cycling, biking, rural vs urban, languages, Esperanto, queer/gay stuff, environment, travelling, easy-recipe cooking, parks, people-watching, free events/stuff to do. And libraries, books and reading. And I'm probably interested in learning about what you're interested in/passionate about, even if it's not on my list.

Music, Movies, and Books

A big mix. The only time I will change the radio station is if a sappy ballad or a hard metal song comes on. I enjoy music and normally have music playing in my apartment, but I don't know band's names, and I can't sing along to save my life.

I enjoy movies mainly as an excuse to pig out on buttery popcorn on a cold winter night. I like watching movies from Quebec or Canada, from other countries, and movies like Rocky Horror Picture Show where you get to join in.

It's a weird mix, but I especially like post-apocalypse books, and gay-lit books. Some of my favourite authors:

Michel Tremblay
Yann Martel
David Sedaris
Margaret Atwood
Michael Cunningham
Armistead Maupin
Andrew Holleran
John Rechy

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Bicycled from Ottawa to Cape Breton (Nova Scotia) and back, couch surfing and wild camping all the way.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to slack-line, how to knit, how to fix a flat (bike) tire, how to make beer bread in under 10 minutes, and I can share some card games (crib, gin, 45s, hearts...)

I want to learn how to cook new dishes, how to throw a frisbee better, and new card games.

What I Can Share with Hosts

- a friendly home
- my time
- a home cooked dinner
- coffee
- hot shower
- wifi

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups