Peter Christian Jørgensen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter Christian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning German, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Studying and teaching
  • Nature and Culture Heritage Management
  • From Svendborg, Region of Southern Denmark, Denmark
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Learning about biodiversity, environment and cultural heritage. I want to learn how sustainability can be understood and practised in every aspect of our lives...

In february 2020 I am travelling to Costa Rica to study in San Jose for one semester (March to July). After my studies my girlfriend and I will travel around Central America and further to explore different ways of living, working, eating, bringing up kids etc...

Gratitude and humbleness.

ABOUT ME

I'm 26 years old from the city of Svendborg, Denmark. The last two years I have lived in Copenhagen (capital of Denmark) where I have studied Nature and Culture Heritage Management. My studies are an interesting combination of cultural studies and natural sciences. My focus is on sustainability and understanding the climate crisis.

I live with my girlfriend, Josephine, in a small place in Copnenhagen, that I built myself in the winter of 2018. I have been working with my hands both as a sailor on board traditional sailing vessels (Such as the Norwegian Christian Radich), I have been designing and building a circus space in Svendborg, Denmark, and in 2016 I bought an old van, Renault Master, and rebuilt it into a van in which I lived for two years. I miss doing crafts and working with my body these years when studying, but soon I will be back with combining academic learning with physical knowledge.

I have been practising, performing and (mainly) teaching circus and movement since 2014. The last years I have had a focus and a great pleasure of teaching games and playing - both to kids and grown-ups. In winter 2019-2020 I have had the pleasure of working with pedagogs and kids redefining outdoor areas in kindergardens and exploring how we can use nature as inspiration for daily creative processes.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe in meeting the locals gives a completely other and richer experience when visiting places. But also hosting gives me the opportunity to experience my own culture from the outside. Introducing my life and habbits to new friends brings up brilliant talks and discussions that brings new reflections to my mind. I believe that travelling (compared to tourism) is about meeting the unexpected - in oneself and in ones surroundings - and CS is for me a good way of doing so!

When I had my own flat i Svendborg in 2011-2013, I was hosting with my flat mates. Afterwards I was travelling for five months hitchhiking in Europe - in these months I surfed several couches only with good experiences.
In Montpellier, France, I went to a CS meeting as well which was a positive exp.

Since my travel in 2014 I have had my couch open for hosting whenever possible - but no requests when I was living in the small town of Svendborg. In my car I often didn't know where I was sleeping and it was really too small for hosting. In Copenhagen I have been living in really small spaces unfortunately with no place for surfers neither... :(

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Positive everywhere. Surfing and be met with open arms and sheets to sleep and giving as much as possible back with hosting.

Sometimes I think Couchsuring demands way too much writing just for asking for at place to sleep.

Interests

As written above, I have done circus for some years (mainly juggling).

I have been reading books since an early age and I used to play a lot of music, when I was younger.

I have been climbing the last years - mainly bouldering (in lack of mountains in Denmark) - as well as slackline, acroyoga, yoga. I want to explore movement - introduce me to whatever you like to do!

  • yoga
  • reading
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • bouldering
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • hitchhiking
  • nature
  • slackline
  • circus
  • sustainability
  • permaculture
  • natural movement
  • sustainable agriculture

Music, Movies, and Books

Revovler, Petit Bus Rouge, Blade Runner, Tarantino...
Brave New World, 1984, Tortilla Flat, Farewell to Arms, Catcher in the Rye, Felix Krull, Just Kids, Dharma Bums, The Watchmen, This is Not a Drill, Troels Kloevedal, etc.

World music, hip hop, jazz, minimal techno, pop...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiked 10.000 km around Europe (Germany, Austria, Czech Rep, Croatia, Slovenia, Belgium, France, Spain, Denmark) for 5 months in 2013/14 exploring european circus culture and many other adventures...

Built and lived in my van for two years...

In april 2018 i went to southern France to a natural building workshop in a lovely permaculture community. In two weeks we build a beautiful roundhouse in an old oak forrest...

Went to Cairo summer 2012. That was simply one of the most beautiful and amazing cities i've ever been to.
Vienna too was an unbelievable beauty

Teach, Learn, Share

I have tought playing and games / team building the past years... I love to play and I think it is vey important for all of us to remember playing!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you all to juggle... Hopefully some games to play

Talks about different understandings of sustainability, the climate crisis, nature connection etc...

Countries I’ve Visited

Bermuda, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Hong Kong, Italy, Saint Martin (French part), South Africa, Spain, Tanzania, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter Christian’s full profile.

My Groups