Peter DeLuca's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.

Overview

  • 67 references 35 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Vietnamese
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Teacher
  • Bachelors of Science in Natural Sciences From SUNY Cortland
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Peter. I'm an athletic, open-minded, warm-hearted, adventurous, and savvy guy. I'm always up for trying something new. Like most people on CS, I love meeting people and exchanging culture and life stories.

After graduating from University in New York State where I studied geology and education, I took a seven-week trip through Europe. It was my first international trip as an adult. I returned with an entirely changed outlook on travel and the world.

In August 2016, I embarked on an open-ended journey to Southeast Asia with the intention of exploring the region for 3-6 months. However, it has now been 7 years since my departure, and I have no immediate plans to return to New York. In 2017, I began teaching English online, which significantly altered my travel style and journey. I evolved from a budget traveler to someone with the ability to work remotely, affording me the flexibility of location independence. As a result, Vietnam has become my home away from home for the past 6 years.

Recently I’ve been settling in to Da Nang, Vietnam where I have a motorcycle repair business. I’m looking forward to meeting you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To get off the tourist trail and meet amazing people from all over the world even when I'm not traveling.

Interests

I thoroughly enjoy building, repairing, and riding motorcycles.

I also enjoy health, science, traveling, firefighting/volunteering, beer, food/cooking, restoration, photography, surfing, sky diving, nature, and camping.

  • fitness
  • motorcycles
  • electronics
  • technology
  • sports
  • extreme sports
  • healthy lifestyle
  • scuba
  • welding
  • mechanics
  • repair
  • asmr
  • fabrication

Music, Movies, and Books

Currently reading: The Diabetes Code

Other titles I've read: A History of Central Banking, Lifespan, Why We Sleep, The Bitcoin Standard, Every Tool's a Hammer, Permanent Record, A Man Named Dave, The Untethered Soul, In Order to Live, Lost and Founder, What I Wish I Knew When I Was 20, The Upside of Irrationality, Sexual Intelligence, Predictably Irrational, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Elon Musk, The 4-hour Workweek, The Martian, The Magic of Thinking Big, A Great Place To Have a War, Gone Girl, E-Myth Revisited,

Recently Watched: Ted Lasso, Tiger King, Black Mirror

Podcasts: Huberman Lab, The Best One Yet, Freakanomics Radio, Radio Lab, JRE,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I trekked 250 km around Mount Everest in Nepal reaching an elevation of 5640 m 18,593 ft.

Teach, Learn, Share

As a former professional brewer, I have a wealth of knowledge about beer that I would love to share with you. Additionally, having lived in Vietnam for while, I have developed a good understanding of its culture and would be happy to teach you about it. If you're interested in motorcycles, I can also share my expertise on maintenance and repair.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Poland, Saint Martin (French part), Singapore, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.

My Groups