Peter Gammelby's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.

Overview

  • 56 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning German, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Swedish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • User Experience Designer @ Software Fabric
  • Master of Science in IT @ Aarhus and Stanford University
  • From Randers, Central Denmark Region, Denmark
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I’m back here after a long hiatus from this site, partly because of Covid shutting everything down and partly because of life stuff.
I’ve missed being able to connect with the people I meet through couchsurfing, to get to know them, learn from them, be inspired by them, broaden my perspective by learning theirs. To me, great travel experiences are mainly about the people you meet, and I’m excited to get back into it.

I consider myself a laid back, easygoing person. I’m also pretty nerdy and cerebral; I like to analyze and figure stuff out. At work I do it as a UX designer for a software company in healthcare. I talk to users and analyze their problems and needs. Then I design and build solutions that solve and fulfill them. It’s engaging and satisfying work, but also draining, so I spend my off time during the week chilling with friends, shows/movies, gaming and discovering music (I’m addicted to this I think).
To not get too much into the daily grind, I have to keep reminding myself to get out of my comfort zone, and meeting all the awesome people on couchsurfing helps with that.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
Surfed so far:

2016:
Leo in Gothenburg 🇸🇪

2015:
Xixi & Michael in Vancouver 🇨🇦
Pamela in Vancouver 🇨🇦
Crystal in Seattle 🇺🇸

2014:
Yasma in Los Angeles 🇺🇸
Aurelia in Berlin 🇩🇪

2013:
Noémi in Budapest 🇭🇺
Peter in Budapest 🇭🇺
Peter in Vienna 🇦🇹
Petra in Bratislava 🇸🇰
Vineet in Stockholm 🇸🇪

In South Korea(2012):
Zach in Tongyeong 🇺🇸
JaeHwan in Busan 🇰🇷
Joe in Ulsan 🇺🇸
Anna in Gyeongju 🇰🇷
Jin in Seoul 🇰🇷

In Japan(2010):
Sumire in Fukuoka 🇯🇵
Asuka in Nagasaki 🇯🇵
Naoko & Masato in Inari 🇯🇵
Tetsuya in Kobe 🇯🇵
Haruna in Nara 🇯🇵

Hosted so far:

2023:
Vafa from Azerbaijan 🇦🇿
Atieh from Iran 🇮🇷

2017:
Eléna & Jeanne from France 🇫🇷
Gisela & Joaquin from Spain 🇪🇸

2016:
Karina & Rosario from Argentina 🇦🇷
Tamara from Serbia 🇷🇸
Blasius & Lisa from Germany 🇩🇪
Isabella from Colombia 🇨🇴
Katharina from Germany 🇩🇪
Asher from Australia 🇦🇺
Lia from Brazil 🇧🇷, Nada from Egypt 🇪🇬 & Jasper from Hong Kong 🇭🇰
Daphne from the US 🇺🇸
Laura from the US 🇺🇸
Elias from Sweden 🇸🇪
Ieva from Latvia 🇱🇻 & Markéta from the Czech Republic 🇨🇿

2015
Lena from Germany 🇩🇪 & Yin from Malaysia 🇲🇾
Daryl & Erin from Canada 🇨🇦
Hangsu from South Korea 🇰🇷
Katleen from Germany 🇩🇪
Weronika from Poland 🇵🇱 & Gabriela from the Czech Republic 🇨🇿

2014
Taejeong from South Korea 🇰🇷& Belen from Spain 🇪🇸
SiewShuen from Singapore 🇸🇬
Jenny from Taiwan 🇹🇼
Aurelia from Germany 🇩🇪
Andy from England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿
Kadi from Estonia 🇪🇪

2013
Matias from Switzerland🇨🇭
Johnson from Taiwan 🇹🇼
Laura & Paula from Germany 🇩🇪
Laura from the Netherlands 🇳🇱
Meng Dong from China 🇨🇳

2012
Colinne & Baptiste from France 🇫🇷
Yu from Taiwan 🇹🇼
Alex from Switzerland🇨🇭& Sabrina from Austria 🇦🇹
Hoiny, Alex & Radu from Romania 🇷🇴
Lotte from the Netherlands 🇳🇱& Free from Belgium 🇧🇪
Cindy, Sophia & Kurt from Germany 🇩🇪
Adam from Israel 🇮🇱

2011
Lena from Switzerland🇨🇭
Wilvie from the Netherlands 🇳🇱

Interests

Discovering wonderful music I haven't heard before.
Laying down a groove on the drums.(Hopefully also on the bass soon)
Getting out of my head with a trip to the gym or a walk in the forest.
Cheering for my favorite teams and athletes.
Immersing myself in great movies.
Unwinding with some computer games.
Discovering how people live all over the world and learning their culture and languages.
Finding subjects of interest, researching and learning everything about them.

  • design
  • movies
  • music
  • drums
  • snowboarding
  • languages
  • solo travel
  • football

Music, Movies, and Books

There's way too many to list. I love so much stuff.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacking through Japan for 3 months and discovering couchsurfing.

Had my first solo travel around South Korea, and learned so much about myself.

The first time the crowd sang along to our own material at a gig.

Studied at Stanford d.school for half a year.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Canada, China, Cuba, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, North Korea, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, United States

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.

My Groups