Tara Petite

Hagerstown, MD, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Homeschooling mom, natural foods buying club, wellness co...
  • B.A. in English, working on my Masters...
  • From Moved a lot as a kid...around the States, Spain & Eastern Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To facilitate pleasant travels for like-minded folk.


Vegan & raw foodie homeschooling family living in the Maryland suburbs... Dad is from Canada, mom is from US... We have three kids and are trying to provide them with diverse experiences to broaden their worldview a bit. :-)

I (Tara) am currently working on my graduate degree in Health & Wellness Coaching and Nutrition from the Maryland University of Integrative Health. Darren (hubby/dad) works for the government, but has the luxury of working at home a lot of the time. So, life is good.


This is always evolving... But, one steadfast element would be honesty... with both myself and my relationships... the rest will flow.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


We are willing to host when it jives with our crazy schedule. As for traveling ourselves, as a family of five, I feel like a bit of an imposing Couchsurfing prospect, but we would like to plan a couple adventures in the upcoming years, and would love to connect with real people, rather than hotel chains!


I have lived overseas as a child, and as a newlywed, and have fond memories of foreign adventures. Though I haven't utilized the Couchsurfing network myself, yet, I love the concept.


raw foods, wellness coaching, mindfulness, meditation, walking, reading, hanging out with my kids, philosophical conversations, etc...

Music, Movies, and Books

Anything that inspires me... I read a lot of non-fiction... philosophy... health... personal-growth, etc... Music is a language I don't speak, but can interpret freely... We unplugged a couple years ago... no cable TV, but I enjoy an occasional thought-provoking or laugh-inducing movie, or insightful personal videos on YouTube.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

At the risk of sounding cliche, becoming a parent definitely tops my most amazing experience list. :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

I lost over 100 pounds starting back in 2005, and have been on a continued journey to heal and learn more about health. Since 2009, I've been following a raw vegan dietary path, and am enjoying seeing where that takes me. I can make a good smoothie, salad or chia pudding. I love to hear other people's stories of wellness and self-discovery!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation and gratitude. :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Italy, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Italy, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tara’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups