Sally-Ann McCarthy's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sally-Ann’s full profile.


  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 55, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Was Drug Counsellor / Now Team leader Community Service...
  • Convent school in Ireland. Tertiary education in UK and ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


to travel to as many places and meet as many amazing people as I can before my time's up!


I'm easy-going Irish gal via London. I will try most things and I'm good fun although I am also an extroverted introvert ( it's a thing apparently) and can be shy in big groups until I have a jar....then I become more Irish. I love travel, music, film, good food and wine, cooking, reading, antiques amongst many others
My idea of holiday hell is an all inclusive resort or massive cruise, with the day revolving around avoiding getting to know the locals. What is the point ?


Whatever is meant to be will be.
Also, 'Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans' John Lennon - Ain't that the truth. Get busy living.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm not in a position to host currently, given that I live in a matchbox in Sydney. Sorry. I have stayed with some amazing people though, and will always contribute something positive to my lovely hosts.


I've been travelling on and off since I was 16 so have slept on plenty of couches and not a lot of planning always went into that so it was very much by chance where I ended up! The 3 times I have couchsurfed via CS so far have been a great success and I hope to do a lot more of it.


Visiting different countries- my favourite thing ever, music, film. Mooching around flea markets and souks picking up antiques, ceramics and rugs etc People watching in cafes, doing as the locals do, lots of cultural stuff. Chilling with friends over good food and wine, but mostly the simplest things in life like sitting by a river or the sea at dusk ( favourite time of day) watching the sun set, having sand between my toes -what could be better?

  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • cocktails
  • traveling
  • music
  • film
  • what do the locals do ?

Music, Movies, and Books

I have such a wide ranging taste in all of these that I think I'd need seperate genres and sub-sections to fit 'em all in! But reading-wise my tastes are very eclectic. Music- I love Pop, Old School Hip Hop, anything that Nile Rodgers has ever been involved in, Americana, Britpop, Latin , Funk, Soul, Stax, Motown, Opera and Classical and anything else you can poke a stick at . As for films, I love everything from American gangster or cop dramas (from the 70s onwards) to good Jane Austen, Dickens, or Bronte adaptations and everything in between.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Waking up to see wildebeest, zebra and a troupe of baboons crossing (not all at once!) in front of my hut on safari, seeing dolphins in the wild, white water rafting in NZ, travelled on my own to tricky places. but mostly learning about how different people live across the world and even though division is always pushed in the media, we actually have more in common than we dont.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've probably got some knowledge to share a thing or two. Just ask me. I have a head full of random things.

2001 - Substance Misuse Counsellor- adults. 2002 - Youth Justice
Update 2011 - Redundancy from my beloved job forced me to diversify again and I now trade on ebay to pay the bills.
Update 2018 - Now living in Sydney and found something else I love doing - working with seniors with dementia.
Update 2022 - Went back to school for Nursing.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Travel experiences and life stories, cook you a meal, buy you a jar down the pub, hopefully a friendship and the opportunity to reciprocate and host back one day

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Egypt, France, Gambia, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Ireland, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Sally-Ann’s full profile.