Stephen McConnachie

Edinburgh, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephen’s full profile. It’s free!


  • No occupation listed
  • Degree in Anthropology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me


Studying happiness...


I'm a PhD student in Social Anthropology studying happiness and conceptions of the good life, trying to write up the thesis...

I haven't been able to host for the last few years, but now definitely could.


No matter where you go, there you are.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Mostly it's been good for meeting people.


I've stayed with a couple of people in Kampala in the past, but only been able to host once, due to living circumstances not really being suitable for hosting so far.


I love all things anthropology - I just love finding out about other people, their life and how they make sense of the world.

I also love sports, football, floorball, tennis, squash.

And I work with a very tiny charity in Uganda trying to fundraise for them in the UK.

Music, Movies, and Books

For music, anything really. I like finding new, different music. Although I don't really get jazz. I don't know what to do with it.

I'm rubbish at movies - I forget them too easily.

Books - I love anything that can tell me something about the world, and how people's lives are. At the moment I'm reading quite a lot of African fiction as well as more factual books about the continent.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've been to some amazing places. Climbing Cotopaxi in Ecuador was pretty special.

Travelling is amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I do devil/flower sticks. I wouldn't say I'm great but I'm not bad. And I haven't practiced for a long time, so anyone who can get me back into it would be great!

I can cook a bit - a few Scottish specialities. I also need to get back into practice with this since I've been eating a lot in the restaurant I've been working in.

I love learning languages, but I'm up for anything really.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Kenya, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malawi, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Rwanda, Spain, Tanzania, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa, Uganda, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups