Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Phil.from.Montreal’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Teacher
  • Honors degree in Anthropology/Archaeology, minor in Ancie...
  • From Montreal
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Hmmm, to pass the JLPT 2, to visit the South Pacific, go to the Pierogi festival, Morocco and Mongolia...


Well I grew up bilingual in Montreal, I'm a really curious person and read alot but at some point you just have to go out into the world and see it for yourself!

The turning point for me was in CEGEP(between High School and University in Quebec) when I finally got tired of waiting to travel. Before that things never matched up:

-I had cash my friends didn't

-I had time my friends didn't

-They had time/money, I didn't

Eventually, I just said it's WAY easier if I just start to travel on my own. Which is what I did, starting with an archaeological field school in New Mexico, then 3 months in Europe and so on and so on... I have now been living abroad for over 10 years!


You only live life once so make the most of it while you can. Once you pass into the great beyond, the only thing you can take with you are your memories so it is up to you to create some interesting memories!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am looking forward to meeting interesting people from all over the world and hopefully make some new friendships. So if you come to Kyoto, let me know!


I have crashed on many couches in my day usually friends but sometimes just people I met while travelling who were kind enough to take me in ^_^ Since I joined CS I've been to some gatherings in Kyoto, shown some people around here and had some people show me around in Thailand (Hi Toom!) and Amsterdam (Hi Kicki!).

I was finally hosted in Istanbul by Selen and Canaan which was fantastic! I got to hang out with locals and expats and experience turkish hospitality ^_^


Ok I am interested in languages and cultures, traveling, photography, art, music, movies, the media, books and reading, hanging out with friends, relaxing, going to sentos or onsens, beer, trying new things, etc.

Music, Movies, and Books

I mostly read Sci-fi and Fantasy for fun, but I will read almost anything, from cereal boxes, street signs, tshirts, novels, short stories, non-fiction, etc.

Movies and TV I watch whatever strikes my fancy: Breaking Bad, Stargate SG1, Gokusen 3, Nodame Cantible(super funny), Jin, My Wife is a Gangster, Detroit Metal City, Dexter, Castle, Heroes, My name is Earl, South Park, Simpsons, Family Guy, Iron Man Armoured Adventures, the IT crowd, Black Books, GTO, Macross Frontier, etc.

My musical tastes are similarly eclectic, metal, jpop, hip hop, reggaeton, raggadub, salsa, quebecois tunes, rock, classical, it all depends on my mood at the time!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked along the Great Wall, walked an Inca trail near Chachapoyas, explored Angkor Wat, seen the Salar de Uyuni in the rainy season, watched the setting sun turn the sky blood red in Uruguay, hiked Koyasan, the Foz de Iguazu waterfall, Cinca Terra, visited the Taj Mahal, lived in Cuzco, Berlin, Seoul, Tokyo, Tochigi, Kyoto, Montreal, took tango lessons in Buenos Aires, seen the Taj Mahal... and lots more~!

Teach, Learn, Share

Well I teach English at work but recently I am really into craft beer!

If you come to Kyoto and bring a bottle of beer from your local area to share, I'll be happy to bring some homebrew to share while we hang out and show you some cool bars with craft beer in Kyoto or Osaka.

I started a group to share information about quality beer in Kansai called "Kansai Beer Lovers" on Facebook. Like my page and you can learn alot about beer and beer related places/events in Kansai!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Malaysia, Monaco, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, Japan, Peru, South Korea, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Phil.from.Montreal’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups