Logo orange

PHILFR_ARTIST

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see PHILFR_ARTIST's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • No languages listed
  • 66, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • artist - people observer - friend
  • Post Grad. in Computer Studies, curr...
  • From Brisbane, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

become a better person, visit interesting places, and to meet other people

ABOUT ME

I am 66 and I STILL don't know what I want to be when I grow up.
I want to meet as many people as possible, and see as many "out of the way" places as I can.
I used to be a Physical Education teacher, then taught maths and computing.
I played a lot of different sports when younger, my main activity now is walking/ swimming.
I'm currently working at becomming a full time artist.
.
A smile is a CURVE that can set everything STRAIGHT.
.

PHILOSOPHY

There are no such things as strangers - only friends you have not met yet.
.
I believe we are all connected, regardless of race or religion - only some people don't know it, and act accordingly.
Every action has a consequence - "karma" if you wish.
Consequently, I behave toward others as I would like them to do toward me.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Joined in December 2009. Respond to Posts, when I feel I can contribute something useful.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted people (eg. through Rotary and CS)
Through CS, I have had people from the southern parts of Australia, South Africa, Belguim, Spain and Namibia.
I was hosted in Africa, Egypt, Rome, Florence and the UK.
All have been good experiences for me so far.

Interests

Major interest now is becoming a good artist. Preferred subject matter is landscapes, and I work in pencil, oils, acrylic and watercolour.
Have always been a keen gardener, and have tried to use Permaculture concepts in my gardens.
I created a "Japanese stroll garden" in an unused corner of my yard, after a visit to Japan in 2008.
Lately, I have started writing poetry - considering I used to hate it in Secondary School - wow!!!
Currently also renovating a house.
I enjoy the "Bush" and go camping regularly.
I used to swim 1.2Km (3 times a week), but an injury had had me sidelined for 6mths. I take about 42 min. My aim is to do it in 36 min.
I have recently taken up "Park Runs" (a world wide organization) - done one in Johannesburg and another in Wishart (Brisbane)

Music, Movies & Books

I mostly enjoy classical, Jazz and artists like Mariah Carey, etc.
Being an ex-Science teacher and loving the "bush" as I do, I prefer natural history type documentaries - eg. David Attenborough, David Suzuki, etc.
I read a lot of Art books, gardening, Nature, and a few adventure type books (Alister McLean, Georgette Heyer, Wilbur Smith, and recently David Baldacci) as an escape.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The most amazing thing I have seen, was the birth of my daughter.
Check out my photos to see the unusual fish skeleton I found on the beach in a National Park in Northern NSW.

Teach, Learn, Share

Have been known to give drawing/painting lessons.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Egypt, France, Italy, Japan, Namibia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see PHILFR_ARTIST's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile