Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hannah’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 23 References 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I normally live in Berlin, but am currently based in NYC, where I go to graduate school, learn about journalism, hang around in Brooklyn, cycle around the five boroughs, eat tacos and attend lots of talks.

I'm also a bit of a restless person, often doing too many things at once. I like bicycles and ice-cream (years of working in ice-cream places have made me an expert!), fruit, volunteering in projects that I consider worth supporting, creative activism, silly dancing, vegan/vegetarian cooking and baking. I like to find, make or recycle things instead of buying them.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Just walking around with a travel guide and looking at old buildings doesn't quite get me. I prefer to get a sense of a new place by meeting its people, which is why I love CS. I've had countless wonderful encounters thanks to couchsurfing, sometimes just for a few hours, sometimes we became friends. I surfed couches in Europe and North America, went to some CS events in Berlin and elsewhere. Both surfing and hosting has (almost) always been great. And the few experiences that were more complicated usually make a good story afterwards.

Interests

- Activities like cycling, hiking, camping, dancing, gardening
- People. Conversations with people about life and politics and all the rest.
- Good food & coffee
- Cities. their people, art&music, neighborhoods, social struggles and movements, parks, food.
- Getting to know people/places/languages/food and all that
- Oh and i'd be interested in getting rid of imperialist white supremacist capitalist patriarchy. ;-)

  • arts
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • walking
  • gardening
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • journalism
  • languages
  • tourism
  • volunteering
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

I like films by Pedro Almodovar, Fatih Akin, Alejandro González Iñárritu , Michel Gondry, Anders Thomas Jensen.

Music. that's a big one, but to give you an idea: Arcade Fire, Radiohead, Broken Social Scene, Beirut, Sufjan Stevens, Warpaint the Notwist, Feist, José Gonzales, Devandra Banhart and the like.

Books: My favorite novel in the last year was Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Other authors I've enjoyed are Jonathan Safran-Foer, Haruki Murakami, García Marquez, Hermann Hesse, Jonathan Franzen.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- was part of the most crazy, friendly, awesome and intense community when volunteering in a Scottish Art/Community Venue

Teach, Learn, Share

I can bake and cook all kinds of delicious things. Or share some stories and experiences.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My favorite thing to do when I'm in a new place is to get on a bike. Wanna go for ride?

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Nicaragua, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Hannah’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups