Logo orange

Daniel's Groups

Daniel Weingarten

Boulder, CO, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 41 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning German, Hebrew (modern)
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • troubadour, adventurer, part-time nerd
  • CU Boulder (Physics grad) & UC Berke...
  • From Santa Monica, California United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel slowly - learning cultures and daily lives, not sights. To get bored and enjoy it.

ABOUT ME

I am me. I'm probably the least qualified person in the world to describe myself, but here's an attempt:
I'm one of those crazy people your mother didn't warn you about. I love life. I love cooking. I love sitting up on a roof talking and drinking tea until past sunrise. I love playing music, anytime anywhere (though unfortunately all I play are african, cuban, and spanish hand drum). I love totally nerding out and going on and on about physics and quantum mechanics and crazy research projects with ridiculously cool machinery(toys). I love climbing trees. I love dancing. I love books. I love exploring, climbing, finding, seeking, doing, not exploring, not climbing, not finding.
I love you?

PHILOSOPHY

¿? I think I tend to stick to my beliefs. Whatever they may be. I don't think that quite formulates itself into a philosophy, but it works. I'm a firm believer in enjoying everything (the alternatives don't really seem worthwhile). I believe in utter honesty and try to maintain myself to the point where I will answer any question anyone asks me honestly and fully. I believe in smiling. A lot. I believe in helping the people around me to the full extent I can and beyond, in the belief that if they in turn do the same we all win. (and I guess I kind of believe in having naive beliefs... if you have goals you can never reach then you are always improving, eh?)

Interests

Lots. I most utterly thoroughly and totally love music in any form, most especially playing hand drums. :-) Djembe, conga, doumbek, darbouka, cajon, bongos, tables, chairs, my stomach... anything.
What else do I do? I'm a tea fanatic and will go on and on about tasty quality genmaichas and gunpowders and Poours and lapsang souchongs any day of the week. I fence; I hang glide (that one's really cool; you should totally try it some day). I love to hike and roam and climb. I read. I love cooking. Very much. What else? I think I'd have to say that I try very hard to enjoy everything, so before this paragraph gets exceedingly long, I'll just say that I like most things. :-)

Music, Movies & Books

House of Leaves (Danielewski),Stranger in a Strange Land (Heinlein), The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand), Terry Pratchett, Godel Escher Bach (Hofstadter).
The Bad Plus, Medeski Martin & Wood, Gomez, Led Zeppelin, The Doors, The White Stripes, Devotchka, Ben Charest, Blockhead, Gotan Project, Ratatat, Mussorgsky, Shostakovich, Pink Floyd, The Flaming Lips.
Fantasia, Snatch, The 5th Element, Sin City, Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, Brazil, Repo Man, Pan's Labyrinth, Dark City.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Burning Man. The most absolutely amazing display of people interacting the best way possible. One week of mind blowing, faith-in-humanity restoring, utterly artisticinteractivehedonisticwanderlusty differentness.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to teach drumming. The more people that can feel that rhythm the better. So I am always down for teaching as much as I know about hand percussion.
Outside of that I don't know if I'm qualified to teach anything, but I'm more than willing to impart all that I know about physics (current university studies), archery (certified basic instructor), construction (been working in machine shops since high school), tree climbing.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Cambodia, Chile, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Thailand

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile