Ocean Denaro's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ocean’s full profile.


  • 19 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, Italian, Spanish; learning Polish, Wolof
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Surfcamp owner
  • Physiotherapy degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Yo surfers ! I'd be super happy to have you but my response will likely be negative if you:
- Send me a template request which shows you haven't read my profile
- Send me a last minute request - I would prefer requests to be at least 1 week in advance!

Qualify for the 2021 Tokyo Olympics !

Howzit Howzit!

I am in Dakar, Senegal since 2017 with the Senegalese Surf Federation (FSS) and seeing if we can qualify a team for the 2021 Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan. Ambitious, definitely!

I live at N'Gor Island surfcamp, on a little island off the Dakar peninsula. Swing/swim by (haha), we'll have some food together and go for a surf. Also when you come you're invited to come with me to the hang-outs/parties that are going on!

I like practicing different types of movement. Capoeira, Ido Portal, Yoga, dancing Bachata, Poi spinning...movement is medicine. I love playing beach volleyball and surf whenever I can. I've played a lot of different sports in the past, team and individual.

Being creative is very important to me! I like spray painting designs on surfboards and designing posters. I'm improving my guitar skills, can you help me with that?

I love to cook, especially improvising with wine, herbs and spices and tend to cook vegetarian.

A self-confessed audiophile; I passionately adore music with quite an international taste. I have great speakers with me so please arrive with good music suggestions, I always need new material!

Today, Senegal is the place for me, I feel at home. Although, Poland, Denmark and South Africa have found special places in my heart.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have been using CS for many years now and have observed shifts in how it is being used. Sadly that shift has not always been positive.

Experienced CouchSurfers will know what the site is truly about. If you are on CS, your motivation should be not be to avoid paying a hostel, but to enrich yourself by seeing what you can learn from someone else by discovering what they can offer you. It's an opportunity like no other, to be let into someone's life, which can be an incredibly fulfilling experience.

I'm really glad I got involved because I've inherited a certain way of seeing and doing things that I would have never obtained otherwise. The best CS moment so far was arriving solo in Cape Town for 10 days, and thanks to CS, not once did I eat alone during my entire stay. I think this is the true beauty of the CS community; that you are surrounded by like-minded people who just want to get to know you.


  • cooking
  • painting
  • surfing
  • sports
  • languages
  • international music

Music, Movies, and Books

Indie old and new (The Smiths, Feist, Waxahatchee)
Old school hip-hop all day every day (Mos def, Tribe, Gang Starr)

Insanely nice German hip-hop and rap (Umse, AnnenMayKantereit, Bushido)
Spanish and latin-american varieties (Jorge Drexler, Romeo Santos, Daniela Spalla)

Also a good mix of deep progressive house - favourite DJ is Kölsch !

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moved abroad alone, twice. I think this has a lot more too it than people think.

I spent an entire year without going to my local supermarket...mostly because I got banned but that's a story I can share when you arrive aha.

Survived the terrorist attack in Nice, 2016

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you all these (semi-useful) things...

1) how you can use green energy in your house such as solar panels and solar water heaters

2) the difference between a sports and a swedish massage

3) the first two layers of the rubik's cube...still working on the 3rd

4) how to surf

5) why there is actually no such country as Holland.

What I cannot teach you...

1) how to fix a bike, even if I previously lived in the city of cyclists

2) how to sleep well

3) how to do maths

4) how to put a saddle on horse - I rode for 5 years and I think those animals are terrifying

5) how to treat technology nicely, my phone speaks for itself

What I Can Share with Hosts

A surfboard. Maybe even two.
A window-vibrating sound system.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mozambique, Norway, Poland, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Netherlands, Senegal, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ocean’s full profile.