Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 16 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian, Ukrainian; learning French, Hungarian, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • PhD Candidate, National University in Singapore
  • M.A. in International Relations and EU Studies, M.A. in E...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My name is Alexander, or Sasha for short. I really enjoy traveling, and love to expand my horizons by seeing other countries. I am 31 years of age, come from Ukraine, currently live in Singapore, but consider myself a global citizen.

My biggest passions outside work are martial arts, cycling, community service, and guitar music. I think music is a universal language that brings people together and is a perfect way of expressing yourself.

MOTTO: Thinking Global. Acting Local.

QUOTE: "A goal is a dream with a deadline." (Napoleon Hill) // “The philosophers have only interpreted the world in various ways. The point, however, is to change it.” (Karl Marx)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am happy to couch people from all over the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

See my references.

Interests

See description.

  • arts
  • acting
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • martial arts
  • rock climbing
  • teaching
  • international relations
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

I am a great fan of reading books in the traditional way - i.e. paper format. I love watching movies too. I have too many favorite books and films from different genres to list them here (feel free to ascribe this to my laziness). And of course can't live without music as already mentioned above.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Parachute-jumping, climbing the Great Wall in China, hitch-hiking for 4 days from Budapest to Belgium

Teach, Learn, Share

I am happy to discuss all of kinds of topics sitting under the mild light of candle and drinking tea, or listening to music. I am happy to exchange our cultures and make new friends.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Thailand, Ukraine, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Hungary, Ukraine, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups