Debs Thorpe's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Debs’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Academic researcher extraordinaire
  • Too much!
  • From Dudley, West Midlands
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To have my cake and eat it

ABOUT ME

Yes, I have too much education (and simultaneously not enough). I have recently finished a Ph.D in Medieval Studies and am now finding my feet in the world of university research. Having captured many of my dreams, my only remaining one is to get a canine companion, and to climb another mountain one day (possibly the two could be combined).

I would love to be able to host one day, but currently I am living with someone who is not a couchsufer. When I get my own place, I will be hosting a lot. Until then, if you are in London, I am more than happy to go for coffee/dinner/take you to a museum - just ask!

PHILOSOPHY

Treat others how you would like to be treated. Treat yourself like you would treat your most treasured friend. Laugh and be laughed at.

Interests

Old books, antique furniture, coffee, red wine, white wine, hiking, running, laughing, watching films, sitting in silence, talking, smiling at strangers.

  • books
  • dancing
  • education
  • wine
  • red wine
  • white wine
  • coffee
  • running
  • partying
  • movies
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • teaching
  • history
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Yes.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living on Herm Island in the Channel Islands for a few months. Nothing has quite beaten being on a tiny island during a thunderstorm, or sitting on the beach looking up at shooting stars, or picking blackberries along the coastal path, or watching the sun rise after a beach party. The fact that I did all this at a very formative time in my life, as I made the transition from teenager to adult, made it even more amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

If anyone cares to hear my ramblings about medieval history and books, then I am happy to indulge them. For hours (be warned!) I also like dancing, and could teach a few salsa moves if required!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Debs’s full profile. It’s free!