Logo orange

Emily Bucklin

Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Czech, French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Relocation Consultant
  • Oklahoma State University: BA
  • From McKinney, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm an American girl, living in Brussels. I have a great network of friends here, but I am looking to travel some more, so why not meet some more people?

I'm a tidy person, but I'm also very laid back, and I get along with everyone. If you send me a message, please tell me what your favorite kind of food is. I do not currently have space in my apartment to host overnight stays, but am happy to meet up with travelers to take on the city! I have a full-time job, so am only available to meet up on evenings and weekends.

PHILOSOPHY

"Traveling is a brutality. It forces you to trust strangers and to lose sight of all that familiar comfort of home and friends. You are constantly off balance. Nothing is yours except the essential things: air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky, all things tending towards the eternal or what we imagine of it." Cesare Pavese

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm open to just about everything. I have lots of upcoming travel, so I will hopefully get some surfing experience, but when I'm in Bruxelles I'm happy to meet up or attend events.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted a few times while I lived in Prague, and I've met a lot of other travelers who have had great CS experiences.

Interests

I have a lot of interests, and they vary depending on my mood. I have a dachshund who us currently living in the US until I move his here, so dogs are definitely at the top of my list. I like reading, painting, photography, pretty much any sport (participating or watching), dancing, drinking, and sarcasm.

Music, Movies & Books

A few good reads: Into Thin Air, A Voyage for Madmen, Invisible Monsters, Lolita, Their Eyes Were Watching God

Music: I really like everything. I grew up on Rock and Roll, Jazz, and Classical music, developed my own taste for rap and hip-hop, survived country music in Texas and Oklahoma.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've been spending the last year trying to hit up every major European festival, so here are my recent accomplishments:

Ran with the bulls in Pamplona 2011
Watched the Victory Lap of the Tour de France, 2011
Survived Oktoberfest in Munich, 2011

Countries I've Visited

France, Germany, India, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Czech Republic, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile