Peter Wong

Somerville, MA, USA

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Spanish, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 113, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Student of life/Massage Therapist
  • Taught well by my parents. Other than that, I've gotten a...
  • From Hong Kong, Indonesia and USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


To boldly go where I have not gone before...(modified Star Trek quote)


I was born in Hong Kong, lived there on and off for 7 years, Indonesia and United States of America.

People who know me think I'm quite sociable, but I can be a little shy initially. I enjoy learning about other cultures. Good food is one of the keys to my heart :)


I try to be open to new things, to improve myself, to live life to the fullest and to keep things in perspective.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Prior to knowing about couchsurfing, I've hosted a few friends: a friend I met in Japan and a few that I've met on the internet: two guys from the Netherlands and a gal from the U.S.

After joining CS, I've surfed on several couches and have had 6 CSers stay with me. I also hosted a gal from Canada, who isn't part of couchsurfing.

Several things that I really look for when surfing couches: meeting new friends, exposing myself to different culture and viewpoints and lastly, I really like looking at different homes to get inspiration from the way different people decorate their places, different layouts of their rooms, etc. Actually, when I'm back in Boston (my hometown), I really enjoy going to "Open House." Open House=people, looking to sell their homes, who open their homes for potential buyers to view...kinda weird, right ^^

When hosting, I look for non-smoking, independent, respectful, clean, considerate people that are genuinely looking to meet me, interact with me and share themselves with me :) Freeloaders need not apply and will be asked to leave if they happen to come by.

My Travel Companions/Friends in Chronological Order:

Will and May Sum, USA (non-CS)
Lucas Lam, Jeannie Seto and her 2 friends, USA (non-CS)
Christie Ciarlo, Richard Kramer, Genna Komm, USA (non-CS)
Halldóra Ingimarsdóttir
Yvonne Strauch
Rose Rose
Abby Lai
dingx (Cissy Ding)
Garmen Zhang
a group of people I met in a restaurant in Lhasa, Tibet, who invited me to stay with them and travel with them (non-CS)
a group of people I met in Yunnan that also invited me to travel with them (non-CS)
Mameaw in Khon Kaen, Thailand (non-CS)
Jurarat Prommanok, Thailand (non-CS)
Laura, France (ex-CS)
Alex Linna
Joseph Labidi

A blog I kept during my travels in South and Central America:

sinbadadventure dot blogspot dot com


Outdoorsy/sporty stuff such as hiking, biking, camping, running, sailing, skiing (snow), volleyball, tennis, scuba diving. Other things such as eating out, cooking, watching movies/shows, traveling, playing board/card games, having good conversations, shooting pool, bowling, learning and trying new things...

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: action/adventure, comedy, drama, suspense/mystery, indie, foreign.
Music: classical, vocal, jazz, blues, acappella, show tunes

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

a)Went on a hiking/backpacking trip with friends to the West Coast of USA and did the slightly perilous Half Dome hike in Yosemite National Park, Bryce N.P., Zion N.P. and also did the touristy thing in Grand Canyon N.P.

b)Spent 8 months traveling around South and Central America. The things I learned, saw and experienced were amazing!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love learning bits and pieces of different languages and have picked up words and phrases from friends I've met online and in person.

Culture and food are two other important things that I enjoy knowing more about.

As for teaching, I have grown up mostly in USA and can help you with your English. I am good at giving and showing others how to give a relaxing Swedish massage. I also enjoy cooking and would be glad to share/exchange my knowledge with you.

Sharing: I can share/exchange travel stories with you :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, French Guiana, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Peru, Suriname, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Indonesia, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups