Phillip Ferrier's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Phillip’s full profile.

Overview

  • 32 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Norwegian
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Outdoor Leadership Professional (Camp Administrator)
  • Bachelor of Arts in Communication
  • From Flint, MI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore the natural world while meeting inspiring people!

I enjoy living life one thing at a time and having the freedom to live, love, and travel. Until very recently I worked as a climbing instructor or sailing instructor in the summer and have had various jobs bartending, cooking, and working outdoors around the country. I now have a full time job at a high adventure base for Boy Scouts of America.

PHILOSOPHY

I like to believe that most people want to help one another, it just takes the right moment for that to happen. I also believe we are responsible for creating meaning in our existence.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I am available, I am excited to show people around Cimarron, New Mexico and the surrounding area (Please keep in mind that as a camp director, I typically work long hours during the summer) I also care a lot about my hometown of Flint, MI and would be excited to show people around there as well when in town. I love traveling just as much or even more than showing off where I live! I'm very interested in people with a strong passion in music, cooking, film photography, or the outdoors. I would love to cook, jam, or go out and party ​.​

My couchsurfing experiences thus far have been nothing but awesome. Because of couchsurfing I have had the opportunity to explore some beautiful places and meet some great people. I have explored different cultures and helped find myself.

Interests

Rock climbing, mountaineering, backcountry skiing, sailing, cycling, film photography, camping, ultimate (frisbee), backpacking, brewing/mixology, japanese food, playing music, food in general, living...

  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cocktails
  • japanese food
  • organic food
  • instructor
  • partying
  • traveling
  • bouldering
  • music
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • mountaineering
  • scuba diving
  • snorkeling
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • tourism
  • travel
  • film photography
  • playing guitar
  • national parks
  • bass guitar
  • cross country skiing

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: It has to make me think, make me hurt, or make me laugh

Music: Yes, please! I play guitar/bass in a ska band, I listen to a lot of alternative/indie rock, but I am pretty open minded and enjoy some bluegrass, electronica, classic rock, reggae, and on and on...

Books: Chuck Palahniuk, Daniel Quinn, J.K. Rowling, Richard Dawkins, a lot of non-fiction, For Dummies books, borrowed books, the internet, cereal boxes, whatever you give me. I enjoy books about philosophy, science fiction, backpacking, the outdoors, and cuisine. I haven't read any fiction in a while, but I still enjoy it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Just one?! Worked at Yellowstone National Park for a month, taught snorkeling and sailing to kids in the Florida Keys, climbed Grand Teton, rappelled off canyons in Moab, went to the sport climbing world cup in Boulder, SCUBA dived in reefs off Florida, worked for a days food and lodging during a blizzard in Grand Mesa, CO... so many things, but I want to do so much more.

Teach, Learn, Share

My parents have owned a health food/supplement store for most of my life so I have a pretty good understanding of vitamins, minerals, vegan/vegetarian foods, dietary restrictions, and organic foods.

I minored in music and always enjoy teaching a little guitar, bass, or music theory. I would love to be taught more, too.

I am an AMGA single pitch climbing instructor and high ropes guide and really like to go rock climbing, slack-lining, or take a trip to the local climbing gym. I am more than willing to teach you how to belay, rig natural anchors, tie knots, show you how to lead, etc.

I enjoy cooking. Any tips or tricks are always appreciated.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share a place to stay, maps, climbing/hiking guides. advice on climbing areas, a kitchen to cook in, a shower to bathe in, camaraderie, fellowship, and fun!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Canada, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Phillip’s full profile.

My Groups