Pamela Karg

Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pamela’s full profile. It’s free!


  • I'm a writer and photographer, as well as a teacher. But ...
  • School of Hard Knocks, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee,...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I could say it's to have at least a million dollars, but the only reason I'd want that much is so I could fund the many charitable projects I get involved in.


I started out as a reporter and then worked for a dairy co-op before opening my own freelance writing/editing business. Along the way, I joined church mission teams and ended up on an individual mission to Armenia. The people touched my heart and I decided to stay, doing volunteer work, but also picking up some teaching and writing/editing to pay the bills.

Then I started doing some agriculture and NGO work in East Africa, splitting my time between there and the Caucasus.

Throughout this adventure, I've found courage that enables me to stay, as well as travel, without a plan. I pride myself on living -- and traveling -- like an everyday person, not an ex-pat or tourist.

I am deeply devoted to my friends and students, justice, equality, and I trust God has a hand in all of this.


If you aren't going to have fun, why come?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people -- even for one afternoon/evening -- whether in my apartment or in yours.


Reading, photography, travel, writing, helping others, adventures, cooking or watching others cook, meeting new people, hearing your stories and tips from around the world.

Music, Movies, and Books

I love "Travels with A Female Nomad" - it's what I aspire to be! I used to play the clarinet - and even twirled the rifle in the marching band (both high school and community.) Oh, maybe that's too much information. I'll read, watch and listen to just about anything. I even went to a kick-boxing match in Armenia a few years ago, just to see what that was like.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've done quite a few things in my life.

One "amazing" thing in Armenia is learn to like "khash." It's calf hooves boiled in water for about 12 hours then served up in a bowl of broth into which you put a lot of freshly minced garlic and lavash (flat bread, like a flour tortilla.) You only eat this in months with an "R" and only early in the morning because the meal also requires a lot of vodka with many toasts. I think the vodka makes "eating" this gelatin goop more tolerable.

I could mention the roasted goat testicles in Kenya and Georgia, or the 4 platters of seafood in Montenegro...but these are just not amazing enough. LOL

Teach, Learn, Share

Joy. That's it. You need it everyday and can find it in the tiniest of moments or things.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A sofa or bed, some insights, a bit of food to tie you over, and outrageous stories!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Kosovo, Macedonia, Madagascar, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tanzania, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Armenia, Kenya, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Pamela’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups