Logo orange

Plamen Akaliyski

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Accepting Guests

92% response rate · Last login 21 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Plamen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References
  • Fluent in Bulgarian, English; learning German, Norwegian, Russian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Social researcher
  • MA Sociology
  • From Plovdiv, Bulgaria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Moving to Norway

ABOUT ME

I like to think of myself as open-minded, curious, friendly, humble and honest person.

I grew up in a small town in Bulgaria and I have never traveled abroad until the age of 18 and haven't spoken a foreign language before I was 21 - you can imagine my world was not very wide. After spending a summer in Alaska in 2008 with a work&travel program and living with people from all corners of the world, my life has changed forever. Now I want to travel and explore the rest of the world. I like meeting different cultures and broaden my horizons. I've lived in England for more than 2 years and since 2011 I am in this incredibly interesting city, Berlin. From June 2015 I am moving to Oslo to do a PhD in sociology for at least 4 years and who knows what the future holds for me.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Travelling, hosting, spreading the word about this amazing community

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Overall really positive in terms of broadening my mind even when meeting people whom I will not otherwise meet - actually those are probably the most interesting.

Interests

Meeting new cultures, exploring the world. Sociology, politics, history and (surprise!) travelling.

Music, Movies & Books

I have to read a lot of non-fiction literature for my work so I prefer to chill out with a nice movie at the end of the day. Some favorite movies that are on top of my head: The Shawshank Redemption, The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit trilogies, Gone Girl, Boyhood and TV series: Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, Breaking Bad, Vikings.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Traveled around Europe for 2 months without a plan - just bought a one way ticket to Madrid :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I am very interested in learning about other cultures. I wrote my Master thesis recently on the topic of cultural differences and similarities in Europe. I would love to share my findings with anyone interested :)

What I Can Share With Hosts

Life experience, Bulgarian cuisine, Science :)

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine

Countries I've Lived In

Bulgaria, Germany, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Plamen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile