Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kaan Zeki’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Research Assistant
  • BSc in Molecular Biology & Genetics
  • From Istanbul, İstanbul, Turkey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Sailing far away!

ABOUT ME

I am originally from Istanbul, Turkey. After getting my BSc degree in Molecular Biology and Genetics I moved to the USA. Since January 2012 I have been living in Cambridge and working in Boston. I work in a neuroscience laboratory as a research assistant doing bunch of experiments with bacteria and fruit fly. I really like my job and working in sciences but I am in the process of deciding which type of career I want to follow. Cambridge is a beautiful city, I enjoy every moment I spend here. Recently, I started learning how to sail and windsurf. I am still at the beginner level but I am practicing to get better. Sailing on Charles River, which is between Cambridge and Boston, is an amazing experience. Once I get better I will be able to take guests on my boat. Other than that I enjoy yoga and cooking. Both helps me to relax my mind and boost my creativity. If you ever visit Cambridge/Boston I might be able to cook you a delicious Turkish dish or take you to a trip on Charles River.

PHILOSOPHY

I like people who are open to new and alternative ideas even though they keep their own opinions. I believe this is a fundamental factor in equality of people. You do not have to have another one's opinion but respecting it, even if it is totally opposite of what you think, is a very important part of a strong personality.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Since I moved to USA and have my own income, I am willing to travel as much as possible. In order to make the traveling more joyous and interesting, I really would love to stay at a couch surfer's place.
About hosting, I share an apartment with 2 roommates, they are very nice and easy to get along with. We have a living room with a couch. We would also like to host one or two people depending on the schedule of me and my roommates.

Interests

Sailing, windsurfing, snowboarding, swimming, cooking, camping, reading, discovering, listening to music, yoga, traveling...

  • cooking
  • yoga
  • flying
  • boating
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • windsurfing
  • camping
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • biology
  • genealogy
  • neuroscience
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Great Expectations, Moulin Rouge, Dancer In The Dark, Edward Scissorhands, A Home at The End of The World, A Single Man, Shelter, Yossi & Jagger, The Bubble, A Beautiful Thing...

Music: Air, Morcheeba, Imogen Heap, Bjork, Telefon Tel Aviv, M83, Coldplay, Massive Attack, Alanis Morissette, Ratatat, Beirut, Sigur Ros, Mogwai, Sia, Lykke Li, The XX, Bonobo, Thievery Corporation, Zola Jesus, The Knife, Fever Ray, Trentemoller, Ellen Allien, Aparat, Moderat, Robyn, Eric Serra, Alan Silvestri, Danny Elfman and a lot more.

Books: The Thief of Always, The Hours, A Home at The End of The World...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Making science is one of the amazing things in my life. Imagine finding new things that nobody has ever known before. Shining a light onto things which are very basic always gives me pure pleasure. Apart from this aspect of science I really believe in how psychodynamic beings us humans are. Whenever I realize a different aspect about my psyche I am amazed. I believe, in order to understand other people we have to understand ourselves first.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Germany, Netherlands, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kaan Zeki’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups