Joshua Shulman's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Indonesian
  • 51, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Josh is a lawyer; Louise is a naturopathic doctor; Ezra a...
  • Way too much, actually.
  • From Josh in Boston (OK, Brookline); Louise in Vancouver B.C.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

We want to meet travelers. We're especially interested in people who either have kids around our kids' ages (12-15), or like teenagers.

ABOUT ME

We are a family of four. Me, Her, and the Two Boys. As of December 2012, the boys were 10 and 13 - you can do the math, it's not like I'm going to update this every year. We live in a big drafty old farmhouse that's long since been overrun by suburbia, but we still have a nice big backyard, complete with chicken coop. We've got a cat, an indoor bird, and of course the chickens out back. We've got a nice big kitchen, love to cook and eat, and enjoy a communal meal with a stranger. No smoking!!!! We've got one good sleeping couch along with extra bedding. Tons of room out back if you've got a tent. Depending on what's happening, we sometimes have a free guest room with a queen size bed. Come visit, we'd love to meet you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Love meeting travelers, showing off Portland, and staying with people who enjoy showing off wherever they live.

Interests

Street food. Cooking, gardening, eating.

  • cats
  • chickens
  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • business
  • entrepreneurship
  • law
  • mathematics

Music, Movies, and Books

David Bowie, Brazil, David Mitchell & Murakami

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Co-founded and ran a successful law firm, then sold it and started over.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm helpful. I can cook and clean and help with whatever needs helping. I'm a lawyer, if that's something that can be useful to you. If you're an entrepreneur of any kind, I advise small businesses and am generous with that advice.

But honestly, what I mostly can offer is what most optimistic couch surfers offer - seeing your home, city, neighborhood with new eyes, and hopefully that reminds you what's so great about where you live.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile. It’s free!