Tiag  Carvalho's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tiag ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 73 references 59 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French, Norwegian Bokmål, Polish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • English - German Teacher / Tour guide
  • Master
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet another amazing person through CS... I am very lucky!!!

ABOUT ME

I was born in Porto. I was raised there too, so I have a strong connection with this city, even though I always lived in the suburbs (but it's a small city anyway).

At school I developed a passion for foreign languages and by the time I was 15 I could communicate in French and German. At that time I was already fluent in English (I watched too much TV).

During university I had a year in Vienna under the ERASMUS program. By this time I had already done 2 Interails across Europe.

After my degree I did my Masters in Kraków - Poland. Awesome year and a half. After that I came back to Porto to work.

I can't live my life without prospect of adventure. I teach for a living and that means that I can have a week off several times a year. So I decided to make the best of my free time and do what I always loved doing: travelling.

I talk, I drink, I travel, but i'm a model guest... trust me :)

PHILOSOPHY

Carpe Diem
Never plan too far ahead or you will find yourself missing what's around the corner...
Yesterday is history...
Tomorrow is a mystery...
Today is a gift... that's why we call it "The Present"!
'Não tenhas pressa... mas não percas tempo'

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I surf and I host
I meet with CS's who want to go for 'Coffee or Drink'
I use CS to practice my foreign languages :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

A model surfer on a cross-country road trip through the US of A... It was nice... I like!!
A short but awesome experience in Poland (my 2nd home)

Interests

Music, cinema, going out, traveling, sports, foreign languages and linguistic grammar (don't judge!!!) Nature, hiking, good food.

Music, Movies, and Books

Too many - I read one book a month, I go to the cinema once a week, I listen to all kinds of music every day... not to mention my favorite TV shows (21 shows I follow after the last count!!!)...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

2 Inter rails through Europe
Erasmus
Studying in Poland
One month roadtrip through the USA

Teach, Learn, Share

This is what I do for a living...

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Norway, Poland, Portugal

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Tiag ’s full profile.