Irena Kennedy

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Irena’s full profile. It’s free!


  • doing stuff, sculpture, working ,
  • four years at art school , 28 years in life
  • From Wellington, New Zealand
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


always trying to figure out what i am doing with my life , usually ends up being travelling.


i love to hula hoop and where i go it goes toooo.I am me,sometimes energetic, some people may say i am a little quirky, thats what going to art school gets you.Can get quite geeky over photography, art and film.

Always happy to have a yarn about political and environmental issues. Big on the outdoors and nature. I have been veg/vegan for 13 years, I don't see a hiarchy between animals and humans, we should both be looked after.

I like going out meeting new people , dancing partying, quite fond of night time infact I would almost say more of a night owl, have to adapt to the mornings and bright light for work purposes. I am a terrible speller and not so good with grammer, i also never know what to write in self descriptions.


this world is a crazy place .

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host and have been hosted , in la paz we generlly were hosting 15 at a time in the house of madnesss, i will answer questions when i know the answers and do what i can to help out.


I have couch surfed around brazil it saved my ass , helped me meet the nicest people , learn the art learn the music learn the places, i am now couch surfing in Bolivia, and when i needed help couch surfing was there for me what would i do with out you!


Nature, water ballet.
contempory art something with a bit of grunt, a whole rather than a half.
Politics ,environmental affairs, Fair trade, Reading, eating good vegeterian food.
Meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

Just kids by Patti smith such a favourite.Wild Swan, Life of pi, small island,on the road,red tent, kite runner, phoebie and her hot water bottles, where the wild things are always in the search of a good one.

Movies documentry: black gold(about the coffee trade), China blue(about sweat shops),the corperation.

Films:i am super geeky about film i worked in an art house cinema for two years so love strange quirky films.
the kitchen sink(short film),city of lost children, delicatesin,royal teninbahms, eagle vs shark,trainspotting, the labrynth(can't beat david bowie in tights), rain,the closet, oh bother where out though.Y tu mama tambien, amores perros, city of gods, happiness, magnolia, mighty wind ,best in show sosoososo many that my brain can not transcribe them now

Music,better described by category than artsist, i love music rythm beats its all good well not a big fan of house, hard metal, or happy hard core or soppy pop, .
Love surf rock, rock,funk, alt coutry, indy music, drumss, live music, roots music, generally try anything. Out door pance parties festivals.

to name a few The pixies,The breeders,Joy division, David bowie, Le tigre, Tracey and the plastics , the clean, fat freddies drop , tape man, igggy pop, the black seeds, bob dylan , lenard cohen, blondie, The doors, electracute, sonic youth, chicks on speed, disator radio, x ray spex.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spent two months in the Amazon! caught a boat down the amazon for 10 days sleeping in a hammock. Hitch hicked for five days on top of a truck from riveralta to La Paz. Travelled in south america, surfed couches and met amazing people.worked with monkeys for five months. LIFE

Teach, Learn, Share

i can teach people how to make a good vegeterian feed, a bit about my world(new Zealand), I can teach you a little about sculpture as that is what i doo, always interesting in getting into art collabirations. gardening love the weeding, a littel afraid of poisness garden creatures.Always happy to help and share the knowledge that i have.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Bolivia, Netherlands, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Irena’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups