Mathias Hartmann's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathias’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Chinese, Dutch, Indonesian, Russian
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Engineer
  • RWTH Aachen
  • From Wuppertal
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

enjoy life to the fullest & build roots

ABOUT ME

In the last years I lived in several places in Germany, Spain and Brazil - studying, working and traveling.
Fresh in The Hague and building roots for the next decades :-)

PHILOSOPHY

1. Enjoy the world with its amazing nature and people
2. Keep searching for a deeper sense
3. Watch human development and try to find answer on how we will be able to live in a sustainable way

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Before I got my first job after university I travelled to several countries in Europe "only", but then I discovered Asia and Latin America (recently started with Africa) and lived some time in Brazil. Travelling a lot in the last years businesswise and privately, I have enjoyed meeting CS people from time to time in order to get connected quickly to the mentality and the place in an easy going way.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am a light CS-er:
From time to time I date with people for talking, sightseeing, partying or meeting at CS meetings and events.
I like that CS can be lived in different ways and you may change your way to use it. I respect all kinds of using CS, but I don´t like people judging about others.
In general I like to combine cultural things and Party.
I am very skeptical concerning the path, Couchsurfing is heading for in the recent times as a company.

Interests

I love Dancing (Kizomba, Forro, Salsa, Tango, Samba, ...), Sports (Fitness, Pilates, and others), Music, Culture (Theater, Arts, Cinema), Nature...

  • arts
  • culture
  • theater
  • dancing
  • tango
  • fitness
  • pilates
  • partying
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • opera
  • hiking
  • sports
  • business
  • languages
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

- Cinema in original language
- Electronic Music, Latin/Cuban/Brazilian Music, Reggae, & much more
- Hermann Hesse - Siddharta; Erich Fromm - To Have or to Be? & many more...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was hiking 3 days in the valley of Paty (Vale do Paty) in the Chapada Diamantina natural reserve, Bahia, Brazil. Short time before I was returning at the cottage (house) where I was staying over night, night fell down and I passed a field full of glowworms... Until that day I had seen only single glowworms, but there I saw billions of them in the dark - impossible to describe that feeling!

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn/improve kizoma, forró, samba de gafieira, samba pagode, samba rock & samba no pé! ...
I want to learn to speak dutch as a Dutch, indonesian like an Indonesian and portuguese as a Brazilian and improve my other languages (especially french).
Maybe someone could teach me to surf?
I´d love to learn chinese / thai massage.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach some dancing, languages and give travel suggestions about the places I´ve been ...
I can further discover The Hague & Nederlands together with you respectively show it to Newcomers
In addition I will happily join people who want to:
-hike
-go to theatre / opera / museum
cause there are not that much people I find to share it

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Laos, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Germany, Netherlands, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mathias’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups