Michael Walker's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 20 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Teacher and Musician
  • High School, Uni and Postgrad in Education
  • From Asuncion, Paraguay
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey, thanks for visiting my profile. I'm a teacher, busker, activist trying to find my way in the world. I grew up in South America and it will always have a special place in my heart. Leeds is my home now.

I have travelled across USA and South America, and visited Europe and Africa. I love sharing travel stories and learning of new cultures and countries. I think it's crucial to be open to new experiences, be tolerant of others and have respect for different world views and beliefs.

I enjoy conversations over red wine, good food and playing guitar until the sun begins to rise.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Through Couchsurfing I have experienced generous hospitality, meaningful friendship and a renewed outlook on life. As a surfer, I have been humbled by openess I have experienced from hosts, willing to share their home, their friends, their culture. It inspired and challenged me.

As a host, I have discovered the joy of helping people on their journey. Sharing my home, my city and my story is one of the expeiriences I most enjoy about CS.

Interests

I love music, I have a piano and many guitars so if you enjoy music too. I enjoy busking in local towns and cities and help to organise music events in Leeds.

I love sports, especially cycling, walking and football. Yorkshire has some beautiful countryside to explore!

  • books
  • wine
  • red wine
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • sports
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Withnail and I, The Mission, Shawshank,
Music: All kinds, Folk, Rock, Classical, Hip Hop, Chilled, Acoustic, Metal
Books: A brief history of the world, To Kill a Mockingbird, Animal Farm, the curious incident of the dog in the night

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

With a 5 hour lay-over in Cape Town, I rented a car, drove to the base of Table Mountain, caught the cable car up, saw the sunset and made it back to the airport for my return flight.

Teach, Learn, Share

Practise your English
Teach me your recipes
Let's write a song

What I Can Share with Hosts

A friendly welcome to the city.

A comfortable home close to the centre.

Good conversation, music and perhaps advice.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Paraguay, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

My Groups