Joshua Prowse

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Writer, Graphic Designer, Policy Wonk, Lawyer, Radio Host
  • Philosophy, Political Science, Law. I've been a student, ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


A Summer Cycling Europe and Meeting People Throughout :)


Note: Number of photos of me on mountains not representative of actual time spent on mountains.

I enjoy a good hike, a great meal replete with animated conversation, and a new interesting space to explore - be it a major city, or the remote wilderness. I'm generally more sincere than ironic, more optimistic than pessimistic and I'm still learning about myself, and about the world. I've lived in much of Canada and have liked meeting new people in journeys about the world. In my time living in Vancouver, I spend my days working as a lawyer with a group that represents people in poverty and tries to use the law to help. I've hosted a radio show talking about current affairs, edited texts on the law, and have volunteered with some local political parties. Overall, I'm usually described as curious and oft described as silly.


Take pleasure in the small joys of daily existence. That's the meaning of life. As well as finding something bigger, most important, than yourself and throwing yourself into that cause.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I started Couchsurfing via this and other sites almost a decade ago. I've Couchsurfed while backpacking in Europe, around Turkey and Cyprus, in the United States, Kenya, and while taking the bus across Canada one summer. I've also hosted a bunch of great people while living in Canada's north and out on the west coast in British Columbia., especially as it existed in its early years, embodies a spirit of generosity, camaraderie, and zest for life that I found just invigorating.


I enjoy bicycling and hiking. I volunteer with a political party in BC. I'm a bit of a tech geek and have worked as a graphic designer and web site creator. I love having engaging conversations over beverages, discussions about the world, and spending some quiet time reading a good article or seeing the latest of one of the great TV shows of our time.

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite music festivals have usually been folk festivals. I`ve had great times dancing the night away at festivals from Burning Man to Coachella, from Ottawa Bluesfest to Nova Scotia`s Evolve. For music, how about anything that we can sing along to with an acoustic guitar :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbed one of the Rocky Mountains in Canada. Then cycled over the passes between them.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Cuba, Cyprus, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups