Kelvin Lau

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelvin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Yue (Cantonese); learning French, Swedish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Researcher
  • University of Waterloo, Bordeaux and UBC
  • From Toronto, ON, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To be free as a bird and soar high in the sky! I also love the water, so a waterbird!


I just finished my graduate studies in Vancouver BC. Because of that I haven't travelled much in the past 3 years, but I have had many friends stay over. Before that, I've lived in France and travelled Europe. I also go back to Hong Kong a lot as that is where I was born. The US is just an hour away.
The last few places I've been to were Sweden, Switzerland, Germany and Turkey.
I'm moving in April 2015 to Geneva!


Come what may. I feel one should be free to express their opinions and others should always be open to listen. I don't get along with stubborn, close-minded or inflexible people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I signed up a long time ago, but I haven't contributed in a long time, so I am starting now by hosting.


Personally, not that much other than at my friends places. I always bring my own toothbrush and soap :)

The people I have hosted, I have throughly enjoyed. I showed them around what the city and region has to offer, city, ocean and them mountains.


Urban design, landscaping, hiking, beach, music i pretty much like it all (electro, indie, house, remixes, top 40, rock) my all time favourites: sigur ros, royksopp, interpol, robyn, death cab for cutie, cooking TV shows, cats/dogs. I love my friends and everything in general.

Music, Movies, and Books

a great variety. i can never list them all. The names more or less just pop into my head. Brave New World. Oryx and Crake. Life of Pi.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I once saw a fruit tree that grew lemons, apples and peaches!

Teach, Learn, Share

Pratar du svenska? Ja!? Hit me up!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hikes/Food/Beer/More Beer/Wine/Outdoors

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Hong Kong

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelvin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups