Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Mobile Software Engineer (taking an off time at the moment)
  • yes
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I just returned from a very exhausting Job in Bangkok and am trying to recover from that and looking for my next direction in life. I also learned in my time abroad how much i love my hometown Hamburg and would like to share it with you.

My flat is undergoing some changes at the moment too, so this means i might or might not be able to host you. However i will gladly show you around. I consider my self to be an expert about exploring Hamburg from it's water-ways (kayak, stand-up-paddling, whatever), alternative culture, food and some aspects of nightlife.

CURRENT MISSION

get my rhythm going

ABOUT ME

I think i am a very laid-back and open-minded person, with an intellectual yet witty kind of humor (sorry, but in german only). Although sometimes a bit shy, which others may misinterpret as beeing harsh, I enjoy beeing with interesting people. One might say, that i have a typical northern german character: featuring understatement and overcooledness

PHILOSOPHY

Zu viele Blumen wachsen nie!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting so far, somtimes trying to surf while traveling

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted a few times. My first experience was, that most people were more into getting a free place to sleep, than making a couchsurfing experinece by getting to know each other. Overall thats ok with me, but i would prefer it the other way round.

Interests

All kinds of Watersports. Active doing Whitewater Kayaking and playing Canoepolo. Most recently: trying to pick up surfing.

Playing the clarinet (just started learning)

Food and Cooking.

Politics, Music, Arts.

Watching: American Football, Roller Derby

TV-Series (The recent good stuff from the US): Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • nightlife
  • politics
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • american football
  • soccer

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: The Big Lebowski, A Serious man (In Fact everything by the coen brothers).

Books: Tschick+In Plüschgewittern(Wolfgang Herrndorf), Herr Lehmann (Sven Regner), Die Vollidioten (Eckard Henscheid), José Saramago, Umberto Eco.

Music: Tocotronic, Jonny Cash, Balkan Beats, (Electro-)Swing, Element of Crime, Dresden Dolls, Bernadette La Hengst, Shantel, Amsterdam Klezmer Band, Iron & Wine, The Decemberists, Architecture in Helsinki, Egotronic, Chicks on Speed, Figli di Madre Ignota, Tom Liwa

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was very impressed with seeing the underwaterworld of the red sea near Hurghada. It was exactly like watching an animal documentray, only better and closer

Teach, Learn, Share

Teaching: Kayaking, Canoepolo, Lockpicking (for recreational purposes of course!), how to make better Mojitos than Hemmingway

Wanting to learn: Spanish, Surfing, Improving ball-throwing skills. And of course always improving my kayaking-skills. Would love to learn some Kayak-freestyling

What I Can Share with Hosts

I usually force my guests to explore my city by its waterways. Either by using a kayak, stand up paddling or a "Tretboot", depending on how sportive you feel. I can promise: Its one of the best things to do

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Thailand

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups