Rachael Goeler's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachael’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 29 References 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Romanian; learning Russian, Sign Language - American
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • High School Special Education Teacher
  • BA in psychology, minor in biology from SUNY Geneseo, M.E...
  • From Chittenango, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Don't you know that only fools are statisfied?


I'm currently 32, grew up in a small town outside of Syracuse, NY, I love to read, write, watch movies,...you know, the usual.

I'm a pretty laid back person when it comes to most things and although I do like to go out and have a good time, I typically prefer to stay at home with a movie or book, or just go out for a casual drink or two.

I'm an older sister. I prefer dogs to cats. I don't smoke.

Anything else you wanna know, feel free to ask.


If it's on the map...I want to go see it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I love meeting new people and this is a good way to do it.

Since moving into an apartment by myself I host frequently. I have met some of the most amazing people I have ever met in my life and have had some wonderful conversation. Couchsurfing has been amazing.


Have had quite a few at this point, mostly as a host. I've found it's hard to surf as I can only really travel in the summer and many people are already booked up. Those times I have surfed have been some of the most amazing travel experiences of my life.

Also I will only accept people who put "An upside-down chimney-sweep" somewhere in the request or title. This is to make sure that you have read some of my profile.


- Books
- Traveling
- Movies
- Writing
- Theatre
- Photography
- Puddle jumping
- Skiing
- Pychology (specifically abnormal behavior and changing behaviors)
- Sign language
- Singing in the rain, the shower, basically anywhere
- Impromptu dance parties
- Hanging with friends and family

  • dogs
  • writing
  • books
  • singing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • walking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • skiing
  • sign language
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Books - Beach Music (Pat Conroy), Enchantment (Orson Scott Card), Ella Enchanted (Gail Carlson Levine), Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling), The Loop (Nicholas Evans)...anything else I can get my hands on

Movies - I love movies. I'll watch anything at least once.

Music - anything and everything from Broadway to Country to the occasional Rap song...even really enjoy classical music and film scores. Love - Guster, Mumford & Sons, DMB, Great Big Sea, Gaelic Storm, Jason Mraz, Ingrid Michaelson, Sara Bareilles, anything by Hanz Zimmer, John Williams and Michael Nymen

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I've ever seen is the sun rise twice from the top of Masada in Israel. Once in a cloudy haze, and then again, not ten minutes after, over the Jordanian mountains.

I also sat in the middle of the desert in Wadi Rum with nothing around me but rocks and sand and two of my best friends, and watched the sun set. It was profound.

Teach, Learn, Share

I think we all have something to teach, learn and share as corny and cliche as that sounds...I'm willing if you are.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a lot of travel stories and am always down for talking and exchanging experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Botswana, Cambodia, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Moldova, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachael’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups