Rachel Gonsalves's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 57 references 48 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Sranan Tongo; learning French, Spanish
  • 47, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Maintenance
  • No education listed
  • From Suriname
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Down to earth frugal minimalist who doesn't drink, doesn't smoke, doesn't like shopping, doesn't like crowds or noise (nightlife), hates politics, really likes Music, Nature, Yoga, Reading and Traveling, and loves her family.

********************************************
TEMPORARY PROFILE UPDATE:

As our house is in the process of reparation, my husband Patrick and I spend a lot of time on our agricultural land at Weg naar Zee, 2 km from the Atlantic Ocean (brown water and mud beach). Here we stay in a tiny wooden house with zero luxury and no wifi. There is no public transportation but there are people hitch hiking.

There is always a lot of work to do on the land, where we have mostly coconut and pommerak trees. There are many different birds flying around and many lizards and frogs cruising along the land and yes, we encounter snakes now and then. At night there are mosquitos because this is kind of a jungle. Some nights herds of kapoewa’s visit the land. In the trenches we have fish (for fishing) and as far as we know there is 1 cayman. Oh… our dog Shoopy is young and happy and wild.

We are planning to start to plant veggies and for now refuse to use herbicides so we have a long way to go to get our land ready.

We have 1 air matrass on a bed under a mosquito net in a seperate tiny room and a matrass that can be unfolded on the floor.

If you are still reading and would like to spend some time at our place and join us in our experiment, just contact us.

********************************************

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To give travelers the opportunity to meet local people and other travelers and share experiences, and to get that same opportunity when I travel. P.S.: I don’t believe in hosting or surfing through CS with the purpose of ‘hooking up’. There are other sites specifically for that.

Interests

  • yoga
  • minimalism
  • music
  • psychology
  • nature
  • zero waste

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
Blue Eyed Soul, Rock (Aerosmith, 80s hair bands esp. Bon Jovi & GnR), The Beatles

Movies:
Braveheart, Up (ADVENTURE IS OUT THERE!), The Godfather

Books:
Power vs Force

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Accepting myself :)

Teach, Learn, Share

We learn from each other by sharing experiences

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Bahamas, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Brazil, Colombia, Curaçao, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, France, French Guiana, Germany, Greece, Guyana, Indonesia, Italy, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Suriname, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Suriname

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.