Photos de RachelGlueck

Profil non vérifié

  • Membre non vérifié par paiement
  • Numéro de téléphone non vérifié
  • Pièce d'identité non vérifiée
  • Adresse non vérifiée

Accepte éventuellement des demandes d'hébergement

  • Dernière connexion il y a 5 months

Rejoignez Couchsurfing pour consulter l'intégralité du profil de RachelGlueck. L'inscription est gratuite !

Présentation

  • 24 Références 14 Confirmé et positif
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Membre depuis 2009
  • Writer, Mezcalista
  • Master Degree in Life Experiences, working towards PhD
  • Aucune ville natale indiquée
  • Profil renseigné à 100 %

À propos de moi

CURRENT MISSION

Finding balance within the adventure

ABOUT ME

Lived like a nomad for the last 15+ years: around the US, Hawaii, Australia, Vietnam, Brasil, (in a boat, sailing to) Panama, San Francisco....I moved to Europe with absolutely no plans in 2009 - looking for a slower, live-in-the-moment kind of lifestyle, working and bumming my way through France, Switzerland, Austria, and Italy. Next was India and Nepal for 7 months where I hiked, motorcycled, volunteered with orphans, and studied Buddhism in a monastery. Now I'm in Todos Santos, Mexico (Baja) and married to a native Mexican healer/Aztec dancer. Too many stories on that to even dive into here. We're starting an artisanal mezcal business, El Amor del Diablo (amordeldiablomezcal.com)
I'm an excellent traveler, but a terrible tourist (no guidebook, museums tend to exhaust me, and I don't like shopping much), but I LOVE meeting people, and getting a real understanding of local culture!

I'm now polishing my book - an existential adventure memoir:
http://wanderglueck.com

PHILOSOPHY

Its all about the adventure, the experience, the love.
Accept, Let go. Accept, let go. Accept, let go.
And enjoy simply BEING.

Pourquoi je suis sur Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm love to meet new people and to help others have unique, fulfilling, locally-connected adventures using resources like couchsurfing. I help people cultivate the attitude of a traveler, and drop the tourist mindset, and help them to incorporate their experiences into their long-term goals.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have stayed with some incredible CS hosts!
I've hosted travelers I've met on the streets and ended up in some really random places (unofficialy couch surfing on someone's boat, for example). I've also had several roommates who hosted couchsurfers at our apartment. Right now we rent our spare room on airbnb in order to pay our rent, so I can't take couchsurfers (yet), except the ones that stumble across my path last minute.

Centres d'intérêt

Travel, the ocean, dancing, mezcal, meeting crazy people with an interesting story, writing, motorcycles, nature, SCUBA, hiking, meditation, cultural studies, food and agriculture, ecology, life, the Universe, and everything.

  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • dancing
  • dining
  • meditation
  • motorcycles
  • boating
  • shopping
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • buddhist
  • agriculture
  • business
  • cultural studies
  • ecology

Morceaux de musique, films et livres

Books: ZORBA THE GREEK, The Hummingbird's Daughter, God of Small Things, Henry Miller's THE COLLOSUS OF MAROUSSI, Big Sur and the Oranges of Heironymous Bosch, The $100 Startup, The Holographic Universe
Always love Rumi, Krishnamurti, Hafiz, Tom Robbins

Music: The Cat Empire, The Clash, Brasilian music, most genres

Movies: The Princess Bride, Harold and Maude, Planet Earth (documentary series), Hero, Crossing the Event Horizon

Une aventure extraordinaire que j'ai vécue

Just one?? Ummm...I sailed a handmade boat to Panama from Washington DC once. It was kinda falling apart (sails ripping, mainstay snapped in 1/2, leaks everywhere...), but we lived to tell the tale. Rode a motorcycle through Kashmir and Ladakh (as a passenger - this time). Did 6 weeks of retreat at a Buddhist monastery in Nepal.

Enseignez, apprenez, partagez

I have loads of travel/adventure stories to share and love to philosophize. I'm working on Spanish. I love different styles of dancing.

Ce que j'aimerais partager avec mes hôtes

STORIES!!! Loads of 'em. An insight into Mexican culture/philosophy (esp. native Mexican).

Pays que j'ai visités

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Malta, Monaco, Nepal, Panama, Spain, United Kingdom, Wales

Pays dans lesquels j'ai vécu

Australia, France, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Recommanders

Rejoignez Couchsurfing pour consulter l'intégralité du profil de RachelGlueck. L'inscription est gratuite !

Mes groupes