Antigua Guatemala, Sacatepequez, Guatemala


Antigua Guatemala, Sacatepequez, Guatemala

Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rafael-Latin65’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Diplomat
  • Lawyer witn an MBA Degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To experience this wonderful planet and be useful to its people


Hello everybody. My name is Rafael. I am originally from Guatemala, Central America. After nearly 4 yrs living in London, and 2 and a half yrs in Atlanta, GA, I am currently working on a project in Guatemala, where I will be for a while, until they send me abroad again. I spend most of my time in the gorgeous town of Antigua (the most beautiful city in Central America by far), where I will be able to host fellow couch surfers.
Before I continue, I ask you to read my whole profile before sending me a couch surfing request (especially this section and the "couch information" section). It is very important for me that you do so (and I have a way of knowing that you did).

And please...do not send requests more than 3 weeks before your arrival. I do not know if I will be home because I also like to travel during the weekends.

Now, back to me:

I am a 47 yrs old guy who does its best to enjoy life and to help other people realize their dreams. I have an adventurous spirit as well. Especially, I love to be of help with those who, like me, are infected with the "travel bug".

In Antigua, I live in a very nice apartment located within walking district of the main touristic attractions and I would love to host couch surfers and show them around.

During the weekends, I sometimes go to my place in Lake Atitlan, where I have a nice house and a boat, and of course, I love to take my couch surfing guests over there.
I can provide you blankets, towels and soap.
I would say a period of 3 to 4 days would be ok for me.

French and Italian speaking guests are especially welcome, because I need to practice both languages in order not to lose them.

I don´t smoke and my flat is a non smoking environment. Also not at all into drugs.

Traveling and meeting people from other countries and backgrounds has always been my passion. If I had the time and the money, I guess I would be traveling all the time !!

I like to consider myself as quite tolerant easy going, open minded and friendly.

I have had the chance to travel over Asia (China, Vietnam, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos), The Moslem World (Turkey, Morocco, Egypt, Jordan), and almost nearly all the countries in South, Central, North America and Europe.

People from both sexes and sexual orientations are welcome. I am gay myself, so that must be ok for you if you want to stay in my house.
I have a very nice kitchen, but I am a terrible cook....so people who loves to cook are particularly welcome....I really enjoy when my guests prepare a nice dinner to share with me.

All my love to all of you couch surfers !!


I am tolerant.....have no prejudices for no type of races, sexual orientation, religions, political ideologies or ways of being.

Of course, I have my own point of view, like anybody else.
I believe in free market economy.

I am a bit confused about my purpose in life, and the meaning of it....but I guess we all are.

I believe aboundance comes from a space of giving, not from expecting things from people.

Traveling is a passion for me. I enjoy it and it rejuvenates me.

I believe in love...I have experienced it, given it and received it....it´s such a blessing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I would love to offer accomodation and to explore the possiblities to get accomodation in my constant trips all over the World.
I would love to meet people, to help them they way around in Guatemala, where I am currently based.


I have been a very active host both in London and Atlanta, and I have also had experienced the hospitality of wonderful Csers who have hosted me in Amsterdam, Oslo, Charleston (SC), Savannah (GA), Edinburgh, and New York City, among other places


Nature and animals
Scuba diving
Mountain climbing
Helping people
Meeting interesting people
Making friends
Getting to know myself (I still have to work on that)
History and nature documentaries
Discussing World current affairs
Reading books (contemporary novels and yes....a few self help books here and there)

Music, Movies, and Books


In English: ABBA (my favourite band ever), Fleetwood Mac, Madonna, The Carpenters, Queen, Blondie, Reo Speedwagon, Boney M, Credence Clearwater, Pet Shop Boys, Divine, Journey, The Beatles and all those nostalgic tracks from the 60s. Westlife, Mika, Lady Ga Ga, Katy Perry.

In Spanish: Mecano (My favourite band in Spanish language), Jose Luis Perales, Juan Gabriel, Ella Baila Sola, Joan Manuel Serrat, Mercedes Sosa, Alux Nahual, Alejandra Guzman, Gloria Trevi, Shakira, Paulina Rubio, Thalia, Kabah, Gypsy Kings, Azucar Moreno.

Also like Classics: Chopin, Beethoven, Liszt, Mozart.

And New Age: Enya, Yanni, Kitaro.

MOVIES: American Beauty, the Godfather, Slumdog Millionaire, As Good as It Gets, The Sea Inside (Mar Adentro).

TV SERIES: Desperate Housewives, Sex and the City, Queer as Folk, Six Feet Under.

BOOKS: The 4 Agreements, the Da Vinci Code, Siddharta, L´Etranger, and all those self help books I keep reading all the time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Scuba diving with sharks in the Bahamas
-Bungee Jumping
-Parapenting in Rio de Janeiro
-Being able to get an MBA degree with a non Mathematical background !!

Teach, Learn, Share

I believe in the innate beauty of the human mind and soul, and the goodness of human beings.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

El Salvador, Guatemala, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    29 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Rafael-Latin65’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups